How do you Move apps/games to SD Card?


Last Updated:

  1. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to move apps/games onto my SD Card, I have an 8gb sd card and its 95% free, the memory on my phone is almost at full capacity, and I keep getting that annoying message that says "Low on Space" on my notifications bar. Can anyone help me? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Go to menu-settings- applications, manage application.
    There, click on the app and you should see an option to move to SD
     
  3. thrifty

    thrifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    13
    GO to settings, Applications, manage applications, then choose each one and see if it will let you move it... I did this a bit ago and some Apps will remove their Icon pic... most will let you do it with no issues... :)
     
  4. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried this, It lets me move maybe 2 apps over to my sd card, those 2 apps aren't even a MB combined so its completely pointless. Is there another way around this because this is so ridiculous...
     
  5. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    I just went though some of my apps and also see that many cannot be moved.

    My best guess is that it has to do with the app. MAybe the way the developer designed that app, it cannot function from the SD card?
    I'm just guessing... but i like the way I think:D
     
  6. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    BTW, what phone do you have?
     
  7. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a moto droid thats rooted...I just think its crazy you cannot move MOST apps/games onto the sd card....I seriously have an 8gb sd card that has 7.7gb remaining...so basically its not doing a damn thing...this ticks me off
     
  8. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    It's not crazy -- you can't move an app to SD that doesn't support it. OS support is just one piece of the chain and apps can't magically do things that they aren't designed to.

    If you're low on space, don't forget to check data and cache for your apps as well.
     
  9. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    That basically defeats the purpose of buying apps from the market, because you can only have so many.....pointless in my opinion.
     
  10. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    25
    If you are rooted you can move any app over using Titanium backup.

    Having said that you can also break the phone by moving the wrong app. Guidance I believe is anything that runs in the background should stay on the phone, anything else can go to the card.

    I moved almost everything over . . . . works fine.
     
  11. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only things i want to move over to my sd card are games and apps I've downloaded from the market, I will have to give titanium backup a try. Ill let you know. Thanks!
     
  12. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    25
    You need to be rooted though . . . . . if you are then it will work.

    When you get to the screen which lists all the apps, there are two menus a short press and a long press on each app gives different options.

    I believe the long press pulls up the menu with move to SD card

    Remember don't move anything in RED (system) and nothing that runs in the background.

    Stuff you launch like games and such should be fine.
     
  13. woogyboogy

    woogyboogy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally someone who can help me!!! Thank you so much, reps on recharge!!!
     
  14. _Jroid

    _Jroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    another app is "move2sd enabler". Must be rooted, but it will allow moving apps to sd. You go into the move2sd app, and set it to external, hit apply, and then you can go into settings and move them from there like normal. I moved almost all mine. I think i heard you should leave apps that you use widgets on the phone. but idk.
     
  15. pschlick4

    pschlick4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So unless I'm rooted I have to settle for only being able to move certain apps to the SD card, is that correct?
     
  16. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    150
    a lot of it has to do with the app developer not updating it to work with 2.2...i update my apps once a day and usually get a couple more that can be moved to the SD card. if you want a quick way of checking which apps can be moved, i highly suggest getting the "move to SD" app in the market. it gathers all the movable apps in one place so you dont have to go through ALL your apps, just the ones you can move.

    i also had some problems when moving to the SD card...basically made some shortcuts to the apps with custom icons, and the icons would go to the default whenever i rebooted the phone. moved em' back to the phone and all is good.
     
    PartyGurle and pschlick4 like this.
  17. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    25
    Correct. As mentioned above, it is up to the developer.
     
  18. bobarcher

    bobarcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't agree more...
     

Share This Page

Loading...