How do you remove the Google search bar?Support


Last Updated:

  1. ORD84

    ORD84 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    14
    Seriously annoyed at that search bar that's on every screen other than that I'm loving this baby!!!

    Can anyone tell me how to remove it? Can't seem to find that in the settings
     

    Advertisement
  2. DEng66

    DEng66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    17
    As far as I know you can't remove it (at least not without rooting). That search bar is a "feature" of Ice Cream Sandwich.
     
  3. ORD84

    ORD84 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    14
    That feature is annoying as hell lol

    Edit: figured it out ironically enough by using the Google search bar, but anyways go into apps and click disable on Google search
     
    jroc likes this.
  4. jroc

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    358
    ORD84 likes this.
  5. recDNA

    recDNA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    44
    I wish the settings screen on the left of home screen was pull down I could use on an alternate browser.
     
  6. never-enough

    never-enough Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there also a way to move the widgets/icons up once the Google search bar is removed? Now the blank space up there is annoying lol
     
  7. hansangb

    hansangb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    32

    I installed Nova Launcher to remove the google toolbar from ever page. And with Nova, you can move up your apps etc. to the top of the screen.

    BTW, as an FYI to others, Nova does *not* turn the google search back to transparent. It may be a bug, but setting it to ICS style-transparent doesn't do the trick.
     
  8. PathToEternity

    PathToEternity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, getting a launcher addressed all this for me.
     
  9. Maveri9720

    Maveri9720 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just wanted to say that if you do this, you will receive an error message when trying to use the voice search feature in Navigation and you won't be able to use it. FYI.
     
  10. notbitter

    notbitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was having the same problem with Nova. You have to select the widget called "Quick Search Bar" instead of "Google Search." Then you can toggle between the ICS clear search bar and the Jelly Bean version.
     
  11. hansangb

    hansangb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    32

    Perfect! Thanks for that.
     
  12. ORD84

    ORD84 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    14
    I don't use Google now found it actually kinda useless as it never actually gave me the commute that I like to take home just the shortest route...so I disabled the toolbar by disabling Google search in the apps
     
  13. hansangb

    hansangb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    32

    If you use GMAIL, it's actually pretty useful. For example, it understands the Amazon/etc. emails with UPS or Fedex tracking numbers and offers to show it to you. The sports scores are nice as well.
     
  14. recDNA

    recDNA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    44
    When I did that I lost all voice to text capabilities?
     
  15. tnstra

    tnstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    10
    I don't remember what I did on JB but I think I just dropped it on the Trash can. I didn't disable anything and it's not there
     

Share This Page

Loading...