How do you root your ace?Support


Last Updated:

  1. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a samsung galaxy ace GT-S5830L running android 2.3.4. Can some one direct me to how i would be able to root my phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ayush29k

    ayush29k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    244
  3. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hm anyone else please i am really anxious to do it :D
     
  4. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. praky

    praky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    91
    Just go to Custom Roms wiki in 'All things root' subforum.
     
  6. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah can you just direct me to a guide cause i really want to root my device badly
     
  7. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone come on pretty please?
     
  8. GTraymond

    GTraymond Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well now i got my device rooted (Thx alot guys hahaha) now i have a app call superuser if that proves that i have did it. Now what should i do now? i really want to install custom roms and stuff what should i do?
     
  9. devayogi

    devayogi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    why i have to root my android?
     
  10. Dennis_Bham

    Dennis_Bham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    21
    GTraymond, what method did you use to root your GT-S5830L ???
     
  11. gandaran

    gandaran Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    my preferred method
    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.noshufou.android.su&feature=search_result
    and
    Superuser
    download the su-bin zip file for gingerbread and install superuser app from market
    or download the superuser zip file (superuser zip file includes the su-bin root installer but installs superuser app to root file system)
    I prefer this method as it only installs root su file on phone not a lot of stuff like others.
    note, if you get an error installing the zip file with the default Samsung recovery flash CWM 4 recovery.
    [RECOVERY] [OFFICIAL] ClockWorkMod 4.0.0.9 - Flash via recovery - xda-developers
     
  12. ayush29k

    ayush29k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    244
    Guys you are making things complicated.
    Rooting is the most simplest of things. I am assuming you all have gingerbread, if not, then upgrade to it.

    You just have to download a .zip file, put it in your sd card, open recovery and click update zip from sd card. Done!!

    Read the details here...
    How to root Samsung Galaxy Ace on Froyo & Gingerbread Ace Tips
     
    ACEsq likes this.
  13. ACEsq

    ACEsq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the link. Easiet method to use for access to root that I've seen. Done it just now, used app quarantine to freeze system apps I don't use and I've unrooted again. Performance is up and it's easily reversible. Thanks again mate.
     
  14. alisaza

    alisaza New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in Gingerbread 2.3.6, Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830L and neither of the upd_1.zip or AceGingerRoot.zip works for me.
    Result:
    E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.
     
  15. wearethestorm

    wearethestorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    This is what I'm interested in rooting for. Which system apps did you freeze? I'm worried freezing certain apps may cause problems.. The e-mail app is always running, even though I don't use it so I really want to freeze that one to free up the RAM it's using.
     
  16. ACEsq

    ACEsq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm on stock 2.3.5, and I froze all these;


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Everything else is working fine. Phone is behaving exactly as I want it to. I use Go task manager to keep an eye on it but I don't need to anymore, the ram usage is stable now. No useless apps loading. Best thing I've done to it in 6 months of ownership.
     
    wearethestorm likes this.
  17. wearethestorm

    wearethestorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    Awesome, I'm going to give it a go too then! Cheers
     
  18. wearethestorm

    wearethestorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    Done! That was definitely a lot easier than I thought it would be.

    Using Espier launcher I can't seem to hide the apps I've frozen anymore, they're just greyed out and won't leave the screen.. but I've stuck them in a folder with other apps I don't really use so no big deal.

    I froze about 6 apps and RAM has definitely gone down, maybe by 20mb.
     
  19. ACEsq

    ACEsq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Agreed, much easier than I'd anticipated too. Whole process from download to root and back completed without any PC hookup in less than 10 mins. The ram used to fluctuate quite a bit, for example when I came off the internet it'd be down at about 65mb available, but when it is idle with no apps running it hovered around 95mb - 110mb. Now when I come off the internet it is at about 110mb already, and idling it is around 135mb - 140mb free ram.

    I use Go launcher for the customisation available, and haven't run into the problem you seem to have. I use stock dialler and messager, the only other Go apps I use are the locker and task manager. The apps I have frozen do not appear either in the app drawer or as options on the hide app menu, they do appear in the applications menu of the settings though.

    Very happy with my current setup :)
     
  20. wearethestorm

    wearethestorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is the RAM you're talking about the value given in the Running Services bit or the stock Task Manager? In Running Services mine with no apps running seems to be around 130-135.. so I'm guessing yours is the Running Services value too. My phone does seem to be a little quicker today, no screen lag, although that could just be wishful thinking.

    I think the apps might not be hidden in Espier as it's set up differently, as in there's no app draw, so all icons just appear on the screens. (I used Go Launcher for months but the tiny 5 dock icons always bugged me.)

    I'm wondering now whether any stock apps can be completely uninstalled to make more space, but I guess that's a little bit more risky than just freezing them.
     
  21. ACEsq

    ACEsq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think that is the same value, on the running services and task manager, and yes I mean that figure. I see it on my homescreen.

    I still reboot once a day and I try to run the battery down all the way before charging, and I manually change data connections. Battery seems better, but it's more the knowledge that when you leave your phone for a bit you won't come back to half a dozen useless apps chewing on your resources that I like.

    About deleting them, one way would be to flash a custom rom, but that's further than I'd like to go. I'm on O2 in the Uk, and when I still had froyo I flashed some official updates with odin before going back to froyo eventually and updating from there with kies. So it's possible, but because I'm using a launcher and apart from the now resolved useless apps issue I have no problems with the stock rom, and if it ain't broke...

    I don't know if there is another way, maybe an app that can do it if the phone is rooted? Then you probably would need to flash anyway if you ever wanted to get the stock apps back, it's not worth the hassle for me.
     
  22. PJ147

    PJ147 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    143
    Stock ram widget shows incorrect ram free. Look in setting > Applications > Running services as it shows running and cached separately (press menu) task manager shows both together.
     
  23. PJ147

    PJ147 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    143
    Its no more risky but when you want them back you'd have to reflash the rom. As a factory reset wouldn't bring them back. If you go down this route then flash CWM and make a backup.
     
  24. AmazingJ19

    AmazingJ19 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    same but i'm in 2.3.4, i've tried everything, but it still won't work
    can anyone help
     
  25. trajikka

    trajikka Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm going to revive this thread because like everyone else with a GT-S5830L who's posted to this thread, rooting with methods mentioned here fails for me. I've been at it for 3 days now, and always get that "E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip"

    I'm hoping someone who has succeeded at rooting their GT-S5830L will read this and solve the problem for us.

    Edit: I found SuperOneClick while exploring a few links here. I'm wary of rooting via USB. Can anyone confirm this is a reliable method, and that unrooting with SuperOneClick will restore the phone to where the warranty will be valid again?

    Edit 2: Modified a root.zip file and got it rooted:

    forum.xda-developers.com [Q] Rooting Galaxy Ace GT-S5830L (Thread)

    forum.xda-developers.com [Q] Rooting Galaxy Ace GT-S5830L (My modified files)
     

Share This Page

Loading...