How do you see cellular signal strength?Support


Last Updated:

  1. AJ_EVO

    AJ_EVO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    114
    Is it built into the OS or do I need to download an app from the market? If so, any recommendations?
     

    Advertisement
  2. socal2ks

    socal2ks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Something different than Settings>about phone>status?
     
  3. AJ_EVO

    AJ_EVO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    114
    THERE it is - I couldn't find it. Thank you.
     
  4. AJ_EVO

    AJ_EVO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    114
    My signal strength sits about -90 dBm but my phone says i have 0 bars. According to the chart below I should have at least 3 bars. WTF?

    Sometimes it does jump to -120 dBm.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. cosmosan

    cosmosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    24
    The signal bars in your notification bar is for 3g, assuming you have the 3g icon showing. The dBm reading in status refers to 1x signal i believe...
     
  6. AJ_EVO

    AJ_EVO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    114
    I'm at home connected to WiFi. I don't see a 3G icon.
     
  7. shotgunn81

    shotgunn81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    AJ evo same ish here. sitting around -90 to -80 and no bars displayed... I live in Santa Ana and my 3G is crap, not consistent at all. How is yours in your part of the o.c.
     
  8. AJ_EVO

    AJ_EVO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    114
    I'm near the Tustin/Irvine marketplace. 3G does suck around here, which is pretty unbelievable. I was getting good speeds near The District.

    I don't understand the bars though. With the signal strenth we have that's worth of at least 2-3 bars. Sometimes I do have 2 bars, but usually none.
     
  9. cosmosan

    cosmosan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    24
    Oh ok. Yeah, I've also been having discrepancies between signal bars and dbm readings. But mine have been with 3g instead of 1x.
     

Share This Page

Loading...