How do you stop a Motorola app from turning on?Support


Last Updated:

  1. redgtconv

    redgtconv Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    One very frustrating thing for me is having to constantly turn off Motorola apps that I do not want. For example I replaced their weather widget with the Weather channel, and I also replaced their news feed widget. I then went into Running Apps and turned off those apps. However, several times per day when I go to Running Apps, I find that they have turned themselves back on. This is getting very annoying to constantly have to turn them off. I don't want extra apps running in the background. Does this mean that I am stuck using the Motorola apps? If you go to "Manage Apps" it will only let you uninstall apps that you have installed.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cagey77

    cagey77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problems. I have all sorts of apps that I didn't launch running in the background. It sucks and its killing my battery i think.
     
  3. sanjeeva7

    sanjeeva7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    14
    Rooting your phone is the only way to remove the crapware.
     
  4. redgtconv

    redgtconv Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok, so then you are telling me that I am stuck using their weather and news feed widgets and I have to uninstall the ones I added in order to not have duplicate apps running. That truly stinks! Now I made the mistake of trying the Motorola Sticky Note widget because I read a reviewer say they really liked it. Well i didn't, so I removed it. But now that damn app keeps turning itself on too.
     
  5. Gamble

    Gamble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    77
    The root is out for the Droid X, and it is not hard to do. Check the root sub-forum:

    All Things Root (Droid X) - Android Forums

    Once rooted, you can use the Titanium Backup to easily uninstall the unwanted Motorola. Just be sure to check the "what's safe to uninstall" threads over there, and definitely don't remove backup assistant.
     
  6. sanjeeva7

    sanjeeva7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm a noob to Android devices but as far as I know yes you are stuck. It's the reason I am going to root my device and the same reason the first thing I do with a new pc is to format the hard drive and reload the OS myself.
     
  7. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Just because there's memory allocated to a Moto app doesn't mean it's actually running and consuming any CPU cycles.

    It's just cached there so if you do decide to use it, it'll launch faster.

    If you open other apps and run low on memory, those dormant Moto apps will get kicked out of your RAM.

    Android is just efficiently using all the resources given to it.
     
  8. sanjeeva7

    sanjeeva7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    14
    So does that mean it's like when a pc puts items in your startup so it will launch quicker? ie Adobe
     
  9. j_ryan

    j_ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's quite similar, but Windows doesn't have the ability to kill any given app to free memory like Android. Nevertheless, I still don't like all that crap loading up. Maybe it's the OCD kicking in.
     
  10. redgtconv

    redgtconv Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Then why does it say the app is running in the Running
    Apps section?
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Running apps or running services?

    Here's an interesting read, if you really want to get into the nitty gritty:

    Android Developers Blog: Multitasking the Android Way



    If it's not really hurting your performance, I wouldn't worry too much about it. If you really want to get rid of it though, that requires root.
     
  12. redgtconv

    redgtconv Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Running services.what's the difference?
     
  13. j_ryan

    j_ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    Services can be used by multiple apps. But actual running apps would be consuming your memory and cpu cycles. Since only that service is running in the background, it allows any app to take advantage of it should it be needed.
     
  14. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    Windows doesn't need to kill an app as it has the benefit of a swap file. Either way effectively accomplishes the same thing.
     
  15. Ubermother

    Ubermother Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will the ability to completely remove apps including crapware be resolved with froyo?
     
  16. j_ryan

    j_ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exactly what I was trying to get across.
     

Share This Page

Loading...