• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help How does one unlock a HTC Inspire 4G?

bella92108

Dec 10, 2010
So I'm new to Android, so forgive me if this is a common question.

I bought the Inspire 4G and it's my first Android Phone.... I travel extensively overseas where I grab local SIMs to use. With iPhone, I'd just pop it in since I bought my iPhone Factory Unlocked in the UK.

So I'm going to need to get my Inspire 4G unlocked... is it like the Vibrant was there it could self-unlock, or is there an easy way to do it, or a trustworthy online site that does unlock codes?

Any feedback would be appreciated. Since I'm not an AT&T customer I can't go to them to request it. :)

Thanks!

Upvote 0
I called AT&T today and asked for the unlock code, but the representative basically told me they would not provide the code until August. I guess AT&T launched the Inspire 4G in February, so the customers have to wait until six months since then. It is really annoying because I will be abroad for three months and I don't want to use the international roaming provided by AT&T. The coverage and speed is already bad in this country, what should I expect the service will be overseas?

Anyway, I also have the same question. If I want to unlock my phone, just temporarily for three months, what is the best option? If I unlock it using a code, can I still have the warranty? I don't want to root my phone though.

I'm not quite sure if the online services are reliable or not. Any opinions?

Upvote 0
"[FONT=&quot]Unlocking by IMEI is legit and is using a mechanism built in any phone (even the iPhone has it). The unlocking is permanent and it doesn’t negatively affect any functionality of your phone. After unlock you can use it in any GSM network around the world, install any application and even firmware update.[/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT]