How hot is too hot?


Last Updated:

  1. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    I just rooted earlier today (currenlty running NexBeast V1.0 with the optional 1Ghz kernel). I'm currently overclocking at 900Mhz and the speed of the phone is amazing. I thought it was fast before, but this doesn't even compare. Anyway, I'm monitoring the temp and I'm getting a little nervous. I've been playing around with the settings and reconfiguring all of my apps (since I had to wipe everything when I installed the ROM), so I've been using it quite a bit for the past few hours. I'm currently charging it while setting up my home screens and I'm noticing the temp starting to creep up into areas that are making me nervous. I'm sitting at our around 100 degrees farenheit right now (and was up to as high as 111 at one point). Is this too hot? I don't want to over-do it, but I would like to be able to overclock. Is there a kernel that I should consider using that does a better job of giving me speed while maintaining a reasonable temp (I'm just using the kernel that was on the link describing the ROM on this site). Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Is this CPU temperature or battery temperature? Are you using TempMonitor?
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Battery max is 60C, CPU max is 90C.

    I'd say, don't let the battery get above 45C, or the CPU get above 55-60C, and you're pretty much golden.
     
  4. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    I didn't know there were two different readings (battery vs. CPU temp). I'm going by what the SetCPU widget is giving me for temp. I just checked my profile and the box for "Use CPU Temperature" is not checked. So unless I'm reading this wrong, this means the temp readings I'm getting refer to the battery. According to the info Fabolous gave me, I was still within the "safe zone."

    I'll download TempMonitor right now. Thanks for the info.
     
  5. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
  6. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    SinfulDragon...That was a good one.
     
  7. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156

Share This Page

Loading...