• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

how I got sprint to waive the $10 evo surcharge for the next 2 years

muncher

May 20, 2010
My current contract is ending at the end of June so I was honestly trying to decide between the new iphone and the evo. I have had pretty good experiences with sprint retentions in the past as they've hooked me up with tons of discounts and goodies in the past on top of my $30 sero plan. I've been using my current phone (700p) for more than 4 years now cause I couldn't figure out a way to switch to the palm pre without losing my sero plan. Recently, as fate would have it, I cracked the screen on my ipod touch, which I relied on for a bunch of medical programs, I had to find a replacement... ok I'm rambling let me get back on track...

So long story short, I called sprint retentions and asked them to make me a compelling offer to not switch over to AT&T for the iphone. They said they'll upgrade me to the EPRP plan (Sprint | Everything Plus(SM) Referral Program) and on top of that throw in a $10 credit every month for the next 2 years to cover the evo luxury tax. I played it cool but I did a little dance on the inside when they said they'll do that.

Anywho, I think the trick is to be out of contract or close to it, mention the new iphone coming out, and talk about how you dislike the $10 surcharge fee.

=D

That's the standard offer to leave a SERO (and other legacy) plan, unforuntately I haven't heard of anyone managing to avoid the $10 EVO fee. With the EVO as popular as it is with the fee, Sprint doesn't seem to have any real incentive to waive it.

I wonder if folks would be more upset if Sprint had just charged $450 for the phone, like they did with the TP2?

They were a bit more generous a few months back, I managed to snag $20 a month as my bribe for leaving SERO and trading in my Mogul for the Moment. (I love the Moment, just gonna love the EVO more :) )