how I got sprint to waive the $10 evo surcharge for the next 2 years

Last Updated:

1. muncher

muncher Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

My current contract is ending at the end of June so I was honestly trying to decide between the new iphone and the evo. I have had pretty good experiences with sprint retentions in the past as they've hooked me up with tons of discounts and goodies in the past on top of my $30 sero plan. I've been using my current phone (700p) for more than 4 years now cause I couldn't figure out a way to switch to the palm pre without losing my sero plan. Recently, as fate would have it, I cracked the screen on my ipod touch, which I relied on for a bunch of medical programs, I had to find a replacement... ok I'm rambling let me get back on track...

So long story short, I called sprint retentions and asked them to make me a compelling offer to not switch over to AT&T for the iphone. They said they'll upgrade me to the EPRP plan (Sprint | Everything Plus(SM) Referral Program) and on top of that throw in a $10 credit every month for the next 2 years to cover the evo luxury tax. I played it cool but I did a little dance on the inside when they said they'll do that.

Anywho, I think the trick is to be out of contract or close to it, mention the new iphone coming out, and talk about how you dislike the $10 surcharge fee.

=D

Advertisement
  2. rockman1117

rockman1117 Well-Known Member

This is much more YMMV than you make it seem to be. The real key to me is that you had the old $30 SERO plan. They'll jump through all kinds of hoops to get you off of that plan and have that die off.

Good job, you definitely got a deal.

3. muncher

agreed, huge YMMV, but perhaps someone else is in a similar situation.

4. 80s_kid

80s_kid Well-Known Member

wow. maybe i can talk my way out of it lol. ive been a sprint customer for over 7 years.

5. abyss5150

abyss5150 Member