how long does it take to root, get a custom rom, how hard is it, etc?

Last Updated:

1. makewayhomer

makewayhomer Well-Known Member

I have never rooted before. I am not a software engineer and do not want get involved in lots of minutia and typing and small steps I could screw up.

I am ok with downloading some files and say a 15 minute process, but don't want to go hunting and pecking for various files strewn across the internets, and if I miss 1 or a step or type a wrong letter my phone is a brick

is rooting for me? how long will it take me? is it a giant pita?

I would root to get better battery life, remove bloatware, and free hotspot

Advertisement
  2. kkl1993

kkl1993 Well-Known Member

rooting will take you no longer than 10 minutes if you use unrevoked. all u need is the file and plugging your phone into your comp. unrevoked does everything for you.
    bricesdad likes this.
  3. kkl1993

kkl1993 Well-Known Member

with rooting you can have wireless tether, save battery, make your phone go faster, install custom ROMs (easy process, just wipe and flash). you are more free with root then you are without root. and if you ever happen to return or replace your phone you can easily unroot
  4. makewayhomer

makewayhomer Well-Known Member

tx

I read this guide but it seemed like a lot more than 10 minutes worth of stuff
  5. TheWhiteBandito

TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

10 minutes to do the root process.
    Maybe an hour to get a custom ROM WITH everything setup (apps, contacts etc).

It's all very simple if you follow the directions.
  6. jiggad369

jiggad369 Active Member

That''s the guide for pre-Unrevoked 3.2 root.
  7. GiveMeItNow

GiveMeItNow Well-Known Member

Rooting is the easiest thing to do with Unrevoked. Install a driver, run the program, plug phone in, have a cold one!
  8. lewy.lewy

lewy.lewy Member

What do you mean by unrevoked 3.2?
  9. Terabethia

Terabethia Well-Known Member