How much RAM?Support


Last Updated:

  1. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    20
    I searched for RAM and came up with 0 posts! There are a number of threads about the amount of memory available for apps and about battery issues but I can't find anything on how much RAM should be available. Yes, I'm another confused BlackBerry convert! BB's suffered from memory leaks that required regular battery pulls to reset and I want to be sure I keep my Vibrant functioning at its best. What should I know about RAM? Or is it something I shouldn't be concerned about?
     

    Advertisement
  2. vud911

    vud911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    11
    512mb ram.
     
  3. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mine shows only 326 total and 62.94 available.
     
  4. Android Amateur

    Android Amateur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    AngryBirds LITE took up 11,239 KB on my phone??? It's worth it. Is there a way to increase RAM? I mean more than 512MB?
     
  5. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Don't worry about it. I'm a BB convert too, and I know all too well what you're referring to. Android applications handle memory very well. The Vibrant has 512MB RAM, which is great for current times (to put it into comparison, BB Curves older than 1 year had 64 - 128MB RAM, and my most current 9700 had 256MB). Android allocates what it needs for applications, basing it on priority, and does so quite nicely.

    No, you can't increase the RAM. 512MB is really good for current standards, especially since even high demanding applications don't take much. Angry Birds, as you mentioned, takes 11MB of that 512MB. You could probably run 20 Angry Birds (you can't, FYI) before noticing any kind of slow down.
     
    CureMS likes this.
  6. Android Amateur

    Android Amateur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is going to sound stupid but what happens when you are out of RAM? Im so ready for Froyo so I can save apps on my SD card...
     
  7. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    RAM and physical storage are two different things. Physical storage is the amount of space that you have available to store the physical (well, electronic) files associated with applications and personal stuff. Think of it as your car's gas tank...the larger your tank is, the more room you have for gas. RAM, on the other hand, is the virtual memory that applications use while they are running. Think of RAM like the fuel lines connecting the gas tank to the pump and engine. The bigger the fuel line is, the more gas can fit through it and the faster the car can go (not really, but it's a good enough analogy). If the fuel line is small, though, it will only transfer so much gas at a time, leaving a "traffic jam" at the gas tank side if the engine were to be trying to get more than it can get. Your virtual memory will always free up during a reboot, and will free the memory up for certain applications when they are closed. I've tested my Vibrant out pretty extensively in terms of RAM usage, and I haven't been able to push it to the point of being nearly out of RAM (if you were to, though, the Android OS would prioritize your applications that are running and distribute the available RAM accordingly). When you run enough applications to "use up" all your RAM, the OS still has enough to run (it took that when the device started up), it will just be less responsive and not as quick. Example: A theme park on a rainy day (lots of RAM available) vs. Disneyland, CA, in the middle of summer (All RAM "used up"). The lines will still move in the middle of summer, just much, much slower.
     
    CureMS likes this.
  8. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks Justin. This was very helpful.
     
  9. PlowRox

    PlowRox Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4


    ????????????????

    all it did for me was force close 3 times...uninstall the pods! save your ram for something worth while ....


    :confused:
     
  10. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Angry Birds is quite fun, and 11MB of RAM usage is not significant. Who wants to use their device for only business and calls / messaging? Gotta have some games for the occasional 10 minutes of free time. I've got 8 games installed, all of which get used maybe 20 minutes a week combined...but they're still fun :D
     
  11. Jhnboy

    Jhnboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I constantly only have about 50 - 120 mb of free memoryl....that seems excessively low compared to a jailbroken 3gs 's 160 mb free memory.
    any help?
     
  12. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Are you noticing slow downs? If not, don't worry about it. A big reason that people may see less available ram than with the iPhone is because they've customized their Android device more than the compared iPhone owner has. Widgets, LauncherPro, all that stuff takes resources.

    A good rule to take into account is if it doesn't bother you, and your device is still snappy, there's nothing to worry about.
     
  13. Naterz

    Naterz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    The phone has like 330mb app ram. The rest is graphics ram. The 512 is a lie in the strictest sense. They should have said it has 512 total ram.

    If you have 1gb ram in ur pc with a1gb graphics card, it doesn't mean you have 2gb ram. Samsung duped a lot of people with their 512 ram statements.

    It had as much ram available for applications as an HTC aria.

    I'll repeat: galaxy s has 512 TOTAL ram, much of which is graphics ram, which normal applications cannot use. 330ish is more accurate when talking about application ram.

    If you seriously think you have 512mb app ram, lol @ you. You're wrong and I'm not gonna debate trivial stuff on a forum :p
     
  14. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Who's debating this? RAM does not mean "app RAM", it means "RAM", which in the case of mobile devices, includes everything that uses RAM. I'm not going to read every reply again, but I don't remember reading anybody write that they have 512MB app RAM.
     
  15. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    20
    This thread was just a simple question, no one is debating anything here. I wasn't "duped" by anyone either. My question in relation to memory leakage on a BlackBerry was answered with a useful explanation.

    Your first sentence re: 330mb app RAM helped me understand the particular numbers I see on my phone. Other than that, your ranting nearly obliterated the helpful info. In the few days you've been on the forums, it appears you haven't been happy with very much about your android experience, not to mention trash talking BB users. I hope you find something you like and will be able to offer those helpful comments without masking them behind the negative stuff.

    I think this thread has served it's purpose. Thanks to all who offered insight.
     
  16. sns227

    sns227 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your helpful posts. I am curious why the new task manager that came with the JI6 update shows a total of 326 MB of ram versus the 512 you are quoting. Wher is the difference? Thanks - SNS
     
  17. golmar88

    golmar88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    As stated above 512 is total ram. The amount of ram you see is "available" ram. Some of the ram must be allocated to different processes and hardware. The argument above is a moot point. The fact remains the phone has 512mb of ram, period. What it is used for is a whole other ball of wax monkeys... wait... nevermind.

    @naterz- Go get you an ibone and you won't have to worry about when to be angry any more. Abble will tell you when to be mad and when not to. :rolleyes:
     
  18. ashaw77536

    ashaw77536 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my vibrant customized and i see it lag from time to time. Where can i go to see how much of the RAM i have used and then what is taking up so much of it so I can take it off?
     
  19. itzxjosh

    itzxjosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    contrary to what you're being told by that bb convert I've only ever had an android for a phone, and only a month an a half at that... and yes you can add ram to an android, as well as internal memory.

    1- download kingo root to root your android
    2- enable usb debugging mode in your settings under applications then go to development
    3- hook up your phone to your computer an click root
    4- when it's done unplug an then go to play store and download link2sd
    5- buy premium version it's only like 2 bucks an its definantly worth it, plus you can't do this without it
    6- next look for minitool partition wizard( minitool.com ) and download it to your computer
    7- open it up and insert your mini sd card(the sd card in your phone) into your computer through an sd adapter or into sd slot if your comp has one.
    copy and paste the files from your sd card to a new folder on your desktop an label it sd card or somthin you can remember.
    8- open minitool and delete all partitions from sd card(you have 1 unless you've done this before
    9- make 3 partitions The first will be fat 32 make w/e size u want. Try to leave a decent amount of mb's for next 2 partitions(I have 16gb card split into 10gb 2.5gb an 1.5 gb
    10- The second partition should be ext2
    11- the third partition make ext3
    12- make all partition types primary
    13- hit apply and wait for message confirming success
    14- next put sd card back in open link2sd it should ask what you'd like to format the second partion to, click ext2 an let it reboot, when it reboots go to on internal link all apps that pop up
    15- go back to google store an download aparted
    16- open up aparted and make your 3rd partition(ext3) your virtual memory(or ram)
    aparted has been dis continued, download amemory boost instead, then go to swap once it's open swap manually an tap the box that says /dev/block and make it say: /dev/block/data/sdext3
    17- VIOLA! thank you thank you I know im awesome, took me 2 an a 1/2 weeks to do all this mostly trial and error plus the time to look all this up, wish I had a way for ppl to donate to me, lmao maybe i'd make a lil money for time invested, ahh well enjoy the freebie someday my work wont be free xD
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Welcome to the forums!

    I've been using Android just a little bit longer - and I promise - you cannot add ram to a phone.

    Btw - this is an old thread for an older model. You'll get more people to talk to in more active areas.

    How about giving our Android Lounge a try my friend?

    We can always use more awesome. :)

    By the way, link2sd isn't that great on many newer models. You might want to wait a bit on the donation thing. ;)

    Glad it's working for you though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...