how risky is 2.1?Support

Last Updated:

1. topher_csr

topher_csr Active Member This Topic's Starter

so i have been looking at all the videos on youtube of the hacked phones with 2.1 on them, i was wondering how sketchy doing the install is? i dont want to lock up my phone and not have sprint be able to fix it. so what i am wondering is it advisable for someone to attempt putting 2.1 on their phone who has never done anything like this? i am pretty tech savy, but it seems tough to do. i know there is a good write up on how to do it. but i dont know what the risks are. any help on this one would be great. also how long would it take to do the update. thanks

Advertisement
  2. dwolf312

dwolf312 Well-Known Member

It's really not that hard at all very simple and quick, and easy to revert back to 1.5. It maybe takes between 5 - 20 mins to do so not too long. Risks are slim if you follow directions and not do anything your not suppose too. Personlly myelf I've never done it before the 2.1 leak and since then I've walked several others through the process.

3. ramiss

ramiss Well-Known Member

There is very little permanent risk to the phone. Even if you have a power loss half way through the flash you can still get back into download mode to start over.

The worst thing that can happen is that you reset your phone back to stock and have to re-install the apps etc.

4. topher_csr

will my phone numbers automatically be backed up to the web? i think i am going to give it a shot.

5. ramiss

ramiss Well-Known Member

If you are syncing everything to your google account (or some other account like exchange) then yes.

The easiest way to make sure is to login to your google account with a browser. Everything in there will be transferred back to the phone after you flash and login again.

6. topher_csr