How to add unknown words into Incredible dictionaryGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm wondering how to add words to the dictionary (aside from going into menu>settings>language & keyboard) like I used to be able to with my droid. If i was texting along and came to a word that wasn't in the dictionary, I could just long press and then select "add to dictionary". Well this phone doesn't have that option and so I'm wondering if I'm just missing it or what..?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    38
    Menu->Settings->Language & Keyboard ->Touch Input ->User Dictionary
     
  3. Reddog80p

    Reddog80p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    39
    When you type a word it shows it along with the suggestions for auto completion. Click the word you want thats next to the auto-correction words and it should save it to memory.
     
  4. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah i know how to do it that way, but I'm wondering if you can add them while in a dialog box, so i don't have to browse to Menu->Settings->Language & Keyboard ->Touch Input ->User Dictionary every time I want to add a word. with my droid, I could just long press in whatever dialog box I was typing in and select "add word to dictionary"...that option is not available on the incredible.
     
  5. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    38
    UGH, didn't fully read the question.

    Reddog80p is correct, while typing, it will attempt to auto correct, once you override by tapping the word you want (should be all the way to the left), it'll add it to your personal dictionary.
     
  6. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    ah ic. I'm using the "evenbetter keyboard" (t9 app from the market) so maybe that's why that option isn't there. Thanks guys!
     
  7. The Antagonist

    The Antagonist Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    The incredible automatically saves your new word to dictionary after you use it in a dialog box.
     
  8. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cool. Guess I'm going to have to switch to HTC's "Phone Keybad" keyboard.
     
  9. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    Talk about a great forum, I posted the question like 10 mins ago and already got like 4 answers...thanks guys!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...