how to back up contacts to my computer


Last Updated:

  1. CarFanatic

    CarFanatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant seem to find the file to get it on to my computer. I plug the phone in and cant find it in any of the folders.. is there a trick?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    You may have to use that Kies program.

    For me, I have my google account that syncs everything for me. I don't ahve to worry about "backing up", it just does it for me without thinking. This way if my phone melts and my computer explodes, I still have all my contacts stored in the "cloud".

    I'd suggest google.
     
  3. CarFanatic

    CarFanatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, but in order to upload my contacts to google, I need to get the contact file off my phone!
     
  4. macshield

    macshield Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Go to contacts hit the menu key then select more. You should see option to import/export. Select that and export you contacts to the SD card. Once you do that your contact list will be in vcf form in your /sd directory. From there you can copy to your desktop then upload to google if you want or just keep as a backup. Hope this helps and let me know if it works out for you.
     
  5. CarFanatic

    CarFanatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that , but I cant find the sd directory!!!

    do I have to have the additional sd card?
     
  6. macshield

    macshield Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    No I don't have an additional SD card and have the directory. If you go to the myfiles app what directories do you see? If you don't see it under /sdcard then try creating it . so your directory should be /sdcard/sd/. Then export contacts again and see what happens
     
  7. CarFanatic

    CarFanatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya I see it there... why cant I see it when I plug in my phone?
     
  8. macshield

    macshield Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Don't know. I'm on a MAC and when I plug in I see the directory. If you are on windows machine maybe it is considered a hidden directory. You Can try putting the phone in debug mode and see what happens. Don't have a windows machine near my right now to try this out, but if I get access to one I'll take a look. Maybe someone else will be able to help.
     
  9. CarFanatic

    CarFanatic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to email the file from the phone so it worked!! thanks!!
     
  10. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just before I do this I gotta ask a stupid question. If I export them to the vcf form, they will still be in my contacts folder too, right?
     
  11. Skyxliner

    Skyxliner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    after you export to sd, your contacts are still there.


    after you export to sd, and you go back and click import contacts, it will ask you if you want to import into google accounts.


    do not clear catch on contacts, I did that and lost everything =(


    also for newbs, remember you can store contacts to phone or to google accounts to link. there's a difference.
     
    Rob Jones likes this.
  12. sob33316

    sob33316 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you are on your pc, you might have to show hidden files. I am not sure if that would be a hidden file or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...