How to change primary gmail?


Last Updated:

  1. cbux5000

    cbux5000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to change the primary gmail account attached to the app market to a a different gmail than the one that the people at the Verizon store set up. I've been searching around -- most people have said to just do a factory reset. However, I found this discussion about changing it on a G1 How to change the primary gmail account on android g1 tmobile phone - 611Connect Blog | Cell Phone Reviews, New Cell Phones, Cell Phone How Toand was wondering if the same solution that "Dac@ Android Developer" provides would work on the Droid with 2.0. His solution was:

    1. Setting > Application > Manage Application > Clear Data from Google Storage
    2. Re-create GMail shortcut

    Apparently this worked great for people with G1s. Am I missing something...or will these instructions just not work with 2.0...?

    I'd greatly appreciate it if anyone had any insight into this subject.
    Thanks. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. rabies

    rabies New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking for the same thing...

    Thanks
     
  3. cbux5000

    cbux5000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump. Still hoping to figure this out.
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hard reset is the only way that I have heard to do that....
     
  5. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
    I changed my address via factory reset. Had to re-purchase any apps that I bought. I did this cause I was unable to switch GTalk usernames. Wish there was a way.
     
  6. cbux5000

    cbux5000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, think I'm gonna take the plunge and just do the factory reset. Any way I can save backup my text messages?
     
  7. flyingyellow

    flyingyellow Guest

    I think I've found a solution.

    I used a fix that another guy found out about (deleting the data for google apps)

    You have to go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Google Apps

    Then click on the "Clear Data" button.

    After that, go back to the settings page and select "Data Synchronization"

    It'll take you to the google account setup screen.

    I made a androidforums account just to post this so APPRECIATE IT :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...