how to change the boot animation


Last Updated:

  1. tomq

    tomq Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    you need adb and root

    choose and download the bootanimation from here Boot Animations NEW!! - Android @ MoDaCo

    then place the bootanimation.zip into c:/where.ever.you.have.it/androidsdk/tools/
    change or remove where.ever.you.have.it to the match your system

    then hit windows key and r together. type cmd and hit enter

    then type cd c:/where.ever.you.have.it/androidsdk/tools/
    adb devices (wait for it to find your phone, also make sure that usb debugging is on)
    now type
    adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local

    when its finished reboot and enjoy
     

    Advertisement
    porter_james and zoidy84 like this.
  2. willmayah

    willmayah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the how-to. do you need to have usb drivers installed to do this properly?
     
  3. tomq

    tomq Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    yes and root
     
  4. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    legendary thanks!! works perfectly for me.
     
  5. madnlooney

    madnlooney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    you can also use root explorer
    1. Download "Root Explorer" from the android market.
    2. Copy the bootanimation.zip to the root of your sdcard,
    3. Using root explorer copy the bootanimation.zip to /data/local
     
  6. potter1984

    potter1984 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lol, you like my work at Modaco then :p,

    I will in a few days port all my images and bootanimation over here so you guys an have direct access, i will also continue updating the new thread as i make new animations.
     
    SUroot and madnlooney like this.
  7. danw1million

    danw1million Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there, I tried this with a rooted htc desire with no luck i amrunning froyo 2.2 any idea if the bootanimation is in the same location ?

    -Dan
     
  8. jk92

    jk92 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It all seemed to work until i rebooted my phone, it still has the same boot animation. Any idea how this is possible? (HTC Desire, froyo 2.2 rooted)
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    you need s-off

    theres a thread on this on xda-devs
     
  10. Jammy

    Jammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    174
    No, you need s-off to change the splash screen(the first thing you see when you click the power button). The Boot animation is the animation right before the phone finishes booting.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Nice work.
     
  12. DesirableHTC

    DesirableHTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    where can i find some new boot anim's?
     
  13. DesirableHTC

    DesirableHTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have just tried this, but it didnt work..... Mind you i did copy the .zip file, do i have to unzip it then copy it to data/local?
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its a protected area that needs RW. when i tried it, it didnt work.
    only work around is to modify the rom before flashing in 7z. ive not tried this workaround as tbh its just a boot anim but people are complaining about not being able to do it on xda-devs with various roms
     
  15. DesirableHTC

    DesirableHTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    Does anyone know where the boot animation is in SuperVillain ROM? i have tried in data/local and in system/media but cannot find it anywhere......
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Worked for me using "android mate". I don't have S-OFF either.
     
  17. ulstersam

    ulstersam Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this is probably going off the subject a bit but I have been searching for ages to find a way to get the boot up jingle or tone or whatever its called back again, I know most people what to silence it but I kinda like it.

    Any help please
     
  18. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just flashed Leedroid & want to change the boot animation.

    Copied the zip I wat to use to my SD card but can't for the life of me work out what to do next even having read the above 100 times (& done a search) :eek:

    Can't find /system/media/ & /data/local/ doesn't exist (I'm using Astro).

    Anyone advise
     
  19. Jammy

    Jammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    174
    /system & /data are not on your sd card, they're on your internal memory.

    ADB is required...
     
    ianb11 likes this.
  20. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
    That would explain it then :D

    I can also use Root Explorer from the market?
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Root explorer will get you into data local but astro won't.
     
    ianb11 likes this.
  22. snowwhite

    snowwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    6
    uot kitchen is so much easier for people who dont no what there doing google it
     
  23. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
    So just rename the existing zip (if you want to keep it) & move the new one in there?

    Just seen it's a pay for app - any (free) alternatives?
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304


    Here you go
     
  25. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
    Got root explorer - so what do I do now?
     

Share This Page

Loading...