How to "clone" an HTC Hero?


Last Updated:

  1. Davii

    Davii Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I just got my HTC Hero about a month ago. Well, this past week it was stolen. I filed the claim and got my new phone in the mail. As luck would have it, the same day the new phone arrived in the mail, the old phone was returned to me. A lady from down the street said she caught her kid with it, recognized my wife from my lock screen and brought it down.

    To make a long story short, the insurance company says I cannot return the new phone to them, I must return the old one. It doesn't make much sense to me, but ok.

    So, how can I go about cloning my old phone to make my new phone the exact same. I have both of them right here, is there a way to just back one up to the computer, plug in the other one and make it the same as my old phone?

    Thanks in advance for your help!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I appreciate your honesty!

    Unfortunately there is no way that I am aware of.

    Astro will let you back up your apps, your pictures are saved to the SD card, and if you set up your contacts as Google contacts then the whole swap process should be rather painless.
     
    Davii likes this.
  3. Davii

    Davii Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Kelmar!

    The main thing I was looking for is the Apps. I have the contacts backed up on google.

    When I back up the apps I use with Astro is there a way to save the data used with them?

    For instance, I use the mileage app like a fiend to check on my truck mileage and harley mileage. I'm hoping I can find a way to seamlessly move this app and all the data I have saved for it to the new phone.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Not sure.

    I've got some apps that I use to balance sound systems that have to be calibrated and the app saves the calibration info on the SD card. Check your SD card for similar things. Maybe it'll retrieve it and maybe it won't.

    When in doubt, right everything down on paper.
     
  5. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,181
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    Wow, I would not think the microphone on the phone is not accurate enough, nor has a wide enough range to calibrate sound systems properly!

    Davii, your apps are tied to your Google account and should be available to re-download.
     
  6. RandyRKelly

    RandyRKelly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    you should use titanium backup premium. it will clone your phone for you trust me on that. im on my third r fourth droid


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    the mileage app data is saved on the SD card and you can restore the mileage history, I have done it several times - not sure about other apps, but are likely the same
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Oh, it's not! But for quick decibel checks it works great!
     
  9. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    send 'em the new phone. what are they gonna do?

    but if you're just looking to make a backup of your apps there are several ways to do it. i have used mybackup pro, but when you restore apps they don't show up in the marketplace correctly. i dunno why. so then you're stuck with apps that won't update.

    there is also a way to backup your apps on your sd card using adb commands. i will try to find it. i have used that too, but haven't used it to restore anything yet.

    edit:
    found it. http://www.androidcentral.com/sdk-driver-root-oh-my

    also, you could always just do a nandroid backup like the folks who root their phones. swap out your sd card and restore it on the other device. now that may not work if your phones have certain different quirks, but it might be worth a try if you wanna root both of em. someone correct me if i am wrong so i don't send him in the wrong direction.
     
  10. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    just keep both, or sent me the new one!!!:D ill buy it from you
     
  11. Davii

    Davii Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wish I could but Sprint's insurance company is like a bunch of pitbulls! If I don't send the old phone back i'll get charged full price for the phone, plus the 100$ deductible!!!
     
  12. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    but if some1 stole your phone how are you going to give it back to them>>??? or you already told them??
     
  13. Davii

    Davii Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    The old phone was returned to me about 10 minutes before Fed Ex arrived with the new phone, so I turned it back on. I haven't started using the new phone yet.
     
  14. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,181
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    You only have so many days to return it as well or they will charge you.
     
    Davii likes this.
  15. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    +1

    This is what I was going to suggest trying, if you really want to 'clone' your old phone to your new one.
     
  16. Davii

    Davii Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help everyone. I was able to back up my apps using the adb commands mentioned earlier, and I just worked with it from there. The phone is now the same as the old phone and working fine.

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  17. superlinkx

    superlinkx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    For other reference: If anyone needs to just make an easy way to keep track of market apps and be able to download them back easily, thereby letting the market keep track of them for updates, use AppBrain.com They are really good. Just download their app, log in with your Google account, (go to the website and sign up first) and then you can keep lists of applications. Just make a backup list of all the apps on your phone before you reset or swap phones. The install list gets wiped whenever those apps aren't found on the phone, so you need a different list of your favorite apps. Then you can select all and install. The phone app will manage it from there, making it fairly easy to reinstall apps. It sounds like a lot of work, but it has lots of benefits, and isn't too bad. Also, their online interface is great for finding new apps. Then you select install and sync on the phone. Its like the App Store, but with OTA syncing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...