How to delete all Contacts from Desire in one fell swoop


Last Updated:

  1. pacman10

    pacman10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just bought a Desire and synced my Contacts with Outlook but result is not to my satisfaction. I want to start over again.

    How do I get rid of all my Contacts (they seem to be called People in Desire-speak) in one fell swoop. I know that I can go into the list and select contacts to delete but there are over 1500 contacts there and I'm not going to spend the next 2 weeks deleting them one by one. There must be some way to select them all and then delete them.

    Oh, and I don't want to do a hard reset and spend the next few hours re-entering my other data.
     

    Advertisement
  2. deek0

    deek0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just make sure you turn the auto sync of first. Otherwise when you delete these from the phone the action will be mirrored at the sync (exchange google etc) Menu>settings>accounts and sync

    Then in people Menu>delete (press menu again) select all>delete
     
  3. pacman10

    pacman10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks very much for this. Curiously, I had switched Off auto-sync when first setting up the machine but when I followed your advice I discovered that auto-sync was On again.

    It's now deleting all the People (sounds like a mad person perpetrating an atrocity).

    Now I'm going to create a subset of Desire-syncable Contacts on my Outlook so that only non-sensitive data gets onto the Desire and thence to the Cloud.
     

Share This Page

Loading...