How to delete vzw contacts from simGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. nw53

    nw53 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there any way to delete vzw contacts like #bal, #data, #min from the rezound sim card???
     

    Advertisement
  2. guyd

    guyd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    +1

    Does anyone know if this can be done?
     
  3. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    Nope can't be done. You can hide so they don't show up in your contact list though.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    contacts are not stored on the sim. That sim card is for LTE connectivity only. All of your contacts are stored on google's server on your google account under contacts.
     
  5. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    Wrong. You have contacts which can be stored on the phone, cloud or SIM.
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Not on VZW. That SIM is only for 4G services. You can have contacts stored on the sdcard.

    GSM phones store their contacts on sim cards. Not VZW


    What is a SIM card?

    A Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card is a small
     
    am_beagle likes this.
  7. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    How do you hide them..its driving me nutz to see them. Thanks
     
  8. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    There's a setting in the People (contacts) app that you can choose which contacts to display. SIM, Facebook, Google, etc. Uncheck the SIM contacts and it'll hide the Verizon default ones.
     
  9. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    By the way, here's a screenshot for you showing that you can indeed have SIM contacts. If I remove my SIM and use another one, the Test Contact is gone.

    By the way, you didn't need to post a wall of text which did not mention once if you could or could not save a contact to the SIM.

    http://i.imgur.com/1NXFi.png
     
  10. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    I just tried that and I see no difference.
     
  11. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    Not sure then. Works for me. Maybe try reboot after doing it?
     
  12. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    OK will try that. Thank you.
     
  13. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    Rebooted it too no change.. Oh well it was worth a shot...Thanks!
     
  14. trophynuts

    trophynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    sorry the intent was to post all of the text to save people from clicking on the link if they didn't want to. You're right it doesn't say you can't save contacts on it. It does explain what the sim is for though. If you have found a way to get it to work then that is good, i'm sure a lot of people would want to know.
     
  15. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    35
    Under my settings it says SIM (0). I do have the vzw numbers but they r on the Google server and I have the option to delete them. I used to have them as pictured in the link above. Weird cuz I never did anything to remove them. So I guess it can be done, I just dont know how. Im gonna play with it...
     
  16. Doit2it

    Doit2it Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    467
    If the OP was asking cause they were selling their phone, wouldn't you want to take the LTE SIM out first. LTE SIM's are linked to your account. Any new owner would need to go to Verizon to get a new SIM card for their account.
     
  17. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    Had to get a new SIM card from Verizon on Saturday..for whatever reason I was not getting service they swapped the SIM card and all is good..anyway.. I asked if those contacts could be removed or hidden and the answer was NO..The rep suggested to rename them with something beginining with a "Z" so they would be at the end of the list...however when I got home to try this all the contacts are not able to be editited..so I guess we are stuck with them.
     
  18. chknhwk

    chknhwk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    22
    [​IMG]
    Contact Remover Plus appears to have done it.
     
  19. nw53

    nw53 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks it works! You can use the free one (not the plus) to get the job done. But, the contacts will come back when you reboot the phone..
     
  20. chknhwk

    chknhwk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    22
    They didn't for me... I just rebooted and they are not there.
     
  21. nw53

    nw53 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I reboot 3X and the contacts came back. It might be I'm using the
    free one not the plus.
     
  22. chknhwk

    chknhwk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    22
    Could be. Then again you might not want to delete them because today I've been getting an error message: the process com.android.phone has stopped working - wait or close. Eventually my phone rebooted to a black screen of death. All it showed was my notification bar which I could pull down but there were no active processes. I could access my quick settings (running ICS) but if I click on the settings gear the phone would go black again. Then it rebooted on it's own again but this time everything came back.
     
  23. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    Contact Remover (free version) did it... OMG what an awesome suggestion. Those pesky contacts are GONE!!!! even if they come back I can delete them again...Someone needs to let the Verizon store reps know about this...THANK YOU AGAIN!!!!!!
     
  24. scv91355

    scv91355 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    You, Sir Are A Genius - Thanks For This!!!
     
  25. Ted1Jones

    Ted1Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    The SIM card used in the Rezound is not a "true" SIM card. It may or may not store contact and other information, but it does not allow you to move your phone number to a different phone like "real" SIM cards are meant to do. For the Rezound, it is used simply to enable 4G LTE.

    If you switch your Rezound to another number, even one that was also on a Rezound, you will have to get a new SIM card from VZW. If you upgrade to a newer LTE phone (which all use different-sized, "real" SIM cards), VZW will include a new SIM card. Want to return the new device and go back to your Rezound - you will need a new Rezound SIM card from VZW. You cannot even use the old Rezound SIM card since VZW permanently deactivates them whenever there is a switch.

    Once you upgrade to a newer phone, like the Incredible 4G, Galaxy S III or DROID RAZR M (just got mine), you can switch between other newer phones that use the "real" SIM card, just by inserting the card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...