How to Downgrade PRL VersionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    I recently did a roaming updated via *228 #2, updating my PRL from 51920 to 52011.

    Ever since the update, my service has been awful, and I hardly get any 3G signal. Is there a way to downgrade back to 51920 via a file?

    Anyone else have issues after updating a PRL?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    There is a way to do this however I do not know what it is. What I can tell you is that you will need the 51920 PRL file. If I am not mistaken, there are instructions somewhere in the Eris forum.

    Take a spin over there and do a search...Hopefully someone will see this that knows how to do it.
     
  3. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
  4. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
  5. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Awesome, those instructions seem very easy. I'm just weary of installing the PRL they reference. I'm hoping there's a way to flash the PRL I had before (51920) since I had great 3G service, but I need to find the file somewhere.
     
  6. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Of course!!

    I have 51920 on my phone so if anyone knows how I can pull it off, I will!!
     
    Squintz82 likes this.
  7. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Thanks Jay!

    Anyone know how to do this?
     
  8. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    Real easy. The process has been the same on HTC phones forever. I've got directions on my site: The Answerman's License To Rant

    You'll need a copy of the Verizon PRL you want to install. I can't help you there as I'm an Alltel refugee and I only have Alltel PRLs archived.
     
  9. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    Jayjay, do you have a copy of QPST? That's the easiest way to pull the PRL. If you do, just open RL editor, do "read from phone" and save it to your desktop with a .prl extension.
     
  10. poolguy

    poolguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just spent 1/2 hour on phone with vzw regarding the same issue. The best they could do was open a ticket. I confirmed the prl was the problem with my wife's dinc which had 51920, side by side with my dinc (52011): Hers had constant 3g, mine 1x. *228'ed hers and now we're both stuck in 1x at our poor signal area home. Out and about we both get better signal and 3g but here at home low signal has dropped to almost nonexistent.
     
  11. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    PoolGuy, looks like you are located right near me (I'm on Long Island as well). That's the same issue I have now with the same PRL.
     
  12. poolguy

    poolguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Squintz, yeah I'm in Rocky Point. The north shore is pretty awful signal-wise normally, but this prl really put it in the crapper...
     
  13. mihneagabriel

    mihneagabriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    12
    keep calling back until you get someone to help you out. I read on some forum that you can actually ask verizon to push a hybrid PRL to you so im sure they can push an old PRL..
     
    Squintz82 likes this.
  14. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    I do not have QPST, any idea where the best place to download it?
     
  15. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    Can't discuss that here ;) Google might be your friend.
     

Share This Page

Loading...