How to fix permissions on files with Busybox (Without using ROM Manager)


Last Updated:

  1. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    After trying and trying, I finally got Busybox successfully installed in the /system/bin of my rooted (Unrevoked 3) Desire running Clockworkmod and Neophyte TSense.

    The reason I installed Busybox was because ROM Manager could use it to fix permissions on files so that less "Andoid.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly" errors would pop up.

    But ROM Manager still gives me the stock "An error occured while trying to run privileged commands!" error.

    Does anyone know how to fix this, or alternately if there is a script which can use Busybox to fix permissions on my files without using RomManager?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    have you tried clearing data and cache on superuser permissions app?
     
  3. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Yup. Tried it just now. I tried deleting data rom Settings>Applications. (Cache was zero). It didnt work.

    So rebooted to recovery, wiped the whole cache partition, tried again. Still no deal.. :(
     
  4. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    I read of a batch script which Cyanogen has incorporated into one his ROMS. Tried it but even that didnt help. But Cynogen's .sh which he originally had posted had a bad link so probably I wasn't using the right one.

    I've tried ROM Manager>Fix Permissions in a Cyanogen ROM, and it's always done the job. A series of command line operations are executed, which fixes permissions. In this case however on a Neophyte, ROM Manager just says "An error occured while trying to run privileged commands!", which implies that somehow permissions aren't correct for it, or that its batch script runs into trouble while running (which may be because of lack of busybox/problem with busybox).

    I've verified that busybox is indeed properly installed into /system/bin. The path too is correct, since invoking busybox from any command line brings up its options.

    So what else could be the problem.
    Superuser app has granted ROM Manager root privs, since it does seem to be able to boot to recovery rom direct from App. But I've previously had problems with the "Download ROM" option, while it automatically installs. It fails at the signature prompt, though I've toggled signature verification off.
     
  5. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    It would be easier to find out the problem if the batch script used by ROM Manager itself could be downloaded and applied at a command prompt, since I could see which line the problem starts at.

    But I cant find that script anywhere.
     
  6. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Cache partition isn't related to app caches. Wiping the cache partition is usually a waste of time.

    Busybox shouldn't be in /system/bin for one thing...
     
  7. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    I'd initially tried installing it in /system/xbin. It didn't seem to work, so I put it here. I found it odd that the app cache of superuser was 0. That's why I erased cache partn.

    Do u think having busybox where it is now, might create a problem?
     
  8. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    My reasoning was that there would always be a path to bin.
     
  9. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Busybox should be in /system/xbin.

    I'm not certain why you're having to install it. Every custom ROM comes with it.
     
  10. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    No, not all. Mine didn't.
     
  11. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Which ROM? It's ridiculous to release one without it unless it's not rooted.
     
  12. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    AuraxTsense and nexTsense. I had to manually install.
     
  13. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    You shouldn't ever have to install busybox on a rooted phone (unless you're building your own ROM). It's essential for too many things that require root.
     
  14. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    I agree, and installation of Busybox wasnt exactly a No-Brainer. But now that it is installed, I want to fix permissions using it, and cannot since ROM Manager is sulking. I can't manually issue thousands of busybox commands and fix permissions.

    I guess I'll have to wait till someone who has a similiar problem comes up/finds a solution.
     
  15. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    If there's no Busybox scripts around, is there at least an alternative to ROM Manager that allows me to fix permissions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...