[How-To] Force 2/2/2010 OTA UpdateTips


Last Updated:

  1. what29

    what29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    86
    maybe i missed something but how do we apply it to an unlocked bootloader, every time i try it gives me the "verification failed' error and aborts installation
     

    Advertisement
  2. bazookafx3

    bazookafx3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How long do I hold the power and volume button for at the caution logo? It doesn't seem to want to update
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I think this is a "feature" of the unlocked bootloader, to prevent OTA updates from ruining root access.

    I dunno if XDA already has a modified version of this up yet that will work with the unlocked bootloader (as well as preserve root).

    I'll add this to the FAQ.
     
  4. blisk

    blisk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also check out the maps program. Its been updated... we now have turn by turn navigation. Also street view for selected points and you can enable street view compass which allows you to do a google sky map sorta thing and move your phone around and it'll move the street view around. Awesome.

    I wanted to see if they fixed the pink that pops up in the center of the image when you're taking a picture and even viewing stuff through it. Unfortunately its not fixed but whats good is I figured out that its probably a software thing. Swipe out the settings on the left side and change the white balance. Seems to go away significantly if not completely on some settings.
     
  5. Trebek

    Trebek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks man! Worked a treat (from an Australian with a US ordered Nexus One)
     
  6. Bob Loblaw1

    Bob Loblaw1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just did the manual update and it worked perfectly. Thanks!
     
  7. osubrad04

    osubrad04 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just attempted to install this update and when I get to the final step "apply sdcard:update.zip".... i get an error that says "E: signature verification failed" "installation aborted". What am I doing incorrectly here? Anyone wanna help a new guy to Android?
     
  8. blackberrycubed

    blackberrycubed Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^^ i am getting the same error !!! help
     
  9. blackberrycubed

    blackberrycubed Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok figured it out.... stupid windows had named the file update.zip.zip ........
     
  10. ryanyo88

    ryanyo88 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has all been in Android for a while now - not new from the update. The street view thing was pre 1.5 lol.
     
  11. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    probably a silly question, but does your phone have to be rooted to do this manual update? I left my damn chord at work so I have to wait until I get in to update....can't wait! Thanks!
     
  12. blackberrycubed

    blackberrycubed Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    no you dont have to be rooted....
     
  13. ryanyo88

    ryanyo88 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it doesn't have to be rooted. Let loose!
     
  14. kei6193

    kei6193 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this work for the droid also?
     
  15. laughter95

    laughter95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    this update still doesn't provide multitouch across the whole phone, just a couple apps. what's annoying is that the multitouch browser doesn't automatically resize the text so you can read it without scrolling back and forth, unless you hit one of the plus/minus buttons.

    the multitouch on the gallery isn't as accurate as on the browser either.

    also I was looking forward to using multitouch when I'm reading news articles from google news but this didn't get applied to the multitouch update either. I'm thinking dolphin is still the better browser with its automatic resizing of text and its tabbed browsing.
     
  16. laughter95

    laughter95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    this update still doesn't provide multitouch across the whole phone, just a couple apps. what's annoying is that the multitouch browser doesn't automatically resize the text so you can read it without scrolling back and forth, unless you hit one of the plus/minus buttons.

    the multitouch on the gallery isn't as accurate as on the browser either.

    also I was looking forward to using multitouch when I'm reading news articles from google news but this didn't get applied to the multitouch update either. I'm thinking dolphin is still the better browser with its automatic resizing of text and its tabbed browsing.
     
  17. Slow_racer

    Slow_racer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea im getting the same error too....
     
  18. hasteveha

    hasteveha New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the best way to reset all the settings to default? I want it like the first day I got it. I saw in the recovery console there was a place for formatting? Is that safe to do?
     
  19. FlipDroid

    FlipDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also wondering this same question...
     
  20. happyantix

    happyantix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Considering it's made for the Nexus i would highly doubt it...
     
  21. carlz28

    carlz28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    +1
    But I doubt it will work for DROID.
    Was actually thinking of trying to use the link and update it, but, not willing to take that chance haha. :p
     
  22. FlipDroid

    FlipDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are practically the same phone, so maybe it will work?
     
  23. pongalong

    pongalong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this void the warranty or violate the TOS in anyway like rooting?
     
  24. SickNick

    SickNick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Success! Worked, did it in like 2 minutes. First you pick bootloader, then recovery mode, and follow the rest of the steps.

    It does seem much faster, and I noticed they made the boot up animation much faster looking.

    All the pinch to zoom stuff works like a charm.

    The whole thing couldn't have went smoother.
     
  25. vsnlweb

    vsnlweb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting that as well, gonna try and do it without the phone plugged into my mac...
     

Share This Page

Loading...