1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

how to get apps from appbrain back to phone after reset?


Last Updated:

  1. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Just did a hard reser in my evo and now need to get my apps from appbrain, but cannot figure out how? any help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rtb35

    rtb35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    131
    Open up the appbrain app,click on manage apps,select the apps you wish to install on your phone then click perform install.
     
  3. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    Working from memory from when I last did this on my N1..

    To be on the safe side, it may be worth logging into your AppBrain account on your PC first and copy your list (I keep a copy of my installed apps in a separate list (my 'Safety List').

    1. Install AppBrain app and sign in.
    2. DO NOT SYNC!!
    3. Perform installs

    Note that you will find that appbrain automatically takes you to the market for each app in turn, working in batches of 10. Make sure you're logged into wifi first, and have a nice cup of tea / coffee handy ;)


    The really good news is that the Google backup in Froyo seems to restore all apps now - last time I reset my N1 I had all 72 apps restored automatically :D
     
  4. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys, my backup from mybackup pro was corrupt on the apps, but thankfully not on phone data, appbrain saved the day
     
  5. jimdibb

    jimdibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, is Google backup something separate? Or do I just go to the market and my downloads and (auto) reinstall them.

    Back when I had to swap out my defective droid, the app store only took care of my purchased apps.
    Thanks!
     
  6. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    The backup functionality is an option in the stock Froyo (for an N1 bought outside of contract at least) under Settings - Privacy. It restores wireless network settings, apps and other stuff. It worked smoothly on my last reset but I had varying results before that. I use the Appbrain app to sync my installed apps in case the Google restore doesn't work.
     
  7. ncguy2

    ncguy2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    The phone backup in Froyo only works if you reset and restore to the exact same physical phone. At least that's what google support told me after I lost all of my apps when trying to restore to a replacement phone.
     
  8. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    I don't see a settings/privacy menu anymore - am I just blind?
     
  9. ncguy2

    ncguy2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Its still on my 2.2 phone. Eighth option down I believe.
     
  10. mplevy

    mplevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    135

    Not true, when I had to have my Droid replaced in Feb all my installed apps (well, most of them) were reinstalled on the new phone once I logged into my Google account on the phone.
     
  11. ncguy2

    ncguy2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm glad to hear that it worked for you. All I can say is that unfortunately it did not work for me and google support said that it wound not work on a new phone, only the same phone. This was going from a Nexus one 2.2 to another Nexus one 2.2. Now something may have happened that caused it not to work and perhaps google support gave me bad info. It wouldn't be the first time. I am just reporting what happened when I tried it.
     
  12. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    That's really weird. It's not there anywhere on my settings menu.
    Personalize, wireless & networks, call, sound, display,
    accounts & sync, location, search, connect to PC, security, applications,
    sd & phone storage, date & time, lang & keyboard, accessibility,
    voice input & output, about phone.

    That's it.
     
  13. mplevy

    mplevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    135
    On my Droid it's on the Privacy menu and there are only 2 options...
     
  14. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    I think HTC took out the Privacy menu.
     
  15. Valiant Cookie

    Valiant Cookie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize I'm preforming major thread necromancy right now, but I found this thread threw a google search and it helped me and I thought I'd add what I did.

    After installing appbrain and logging in it automatically synced, so what I had to do, was go on the appbrain webpage and I then saw that thre were 2 lists, "apps on the phone" and "apps on the samsung galaxy s" (the phone i was using) so I simply added all the apps from on the phone to the galaxy s and it popped up on my phone when i synced.
     
  16. rbg5161

    rbg5161 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Valiant Cookie for chiming back in, the alternate listing for phone under AppBrain just saved me too. I had to do a Sprint Tech support suggested full wipe of my EVO. Didn't solve the problem so I am getting another EVO sent my way and will have to get my apps back yet again.

    Thanks much.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...