• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How to get Control over Android?!

mosmetic

Lurker
Sep 26, 2012
Hi,

I am new to android and I moved there from Iphone OS because of privacy, open source, and more control.

Now I have an HTC One V with Android 4.0, but I do NOT have more control!

In the taskmanager, I can see that all kinds of services start "themselves" (meaning, they are back right soon after closing them) also, when I want to install new apps and I see what kind of rights they have, I would like to throw this thing right out of the window.
Seriously, why does a flash light need the right to write to my SD card or talk to the net?
And why does the Flickr process (and others) start all over again even after I "disabled" it/them?
What is behind processes like "SmartNetwork" and "google services"?

So my main question is:
How can I get back the control over my hardware?
How can I restrict apps, and how can I prevent apps from starting "themselves" or get started through other apps which actually have nothing to do with them?

Are here poweruseres who have rooted their phone and can share some experiences?
Preferably ones who also value freedom in the sense of free software and privacy very high?
I would like to talk to you guys, get some insights and learn how you got back in control over your hardware.

Thanks

These processes are meant to "restart" themselves. In Android, RAM is used to store apps for real multi-tasking. Even with a fresh exit, many apps are meant to run in the background, like Flickr. When you're in the gallery app and want to share a picture, it enables Flickr to be on the list of ways to share. This is designed like a computer rather than a sandbox. If you start turning things off, your phone won't work as it's designed.