How to get mp3 ringtones onto CaptivateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Racktacular

    Racktacular Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    My friend texted me his ringtone that is in mp3 format. I saved the MMS to my phone. Now where do I move that file in order for it to come up as an option to be a ringtone?

    TIA!

    -Rack
     

    Advertisement
  2. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    As has been posted several times, you need to make a Ringtones directory on your microSD card.
     
    melonary likes this.
  3. Android_J

    Android_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    14
    Not true that you need a ringtone folder. I have my ringtone in my Sounds folder.

    To make a ringtone:

    • File must be under 300kb
    • Click on file to play it.
    • In media player, click menu button (capacitive button on left)
    • Click "set as" and choose ringtone, etc.
     
  4. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    They don't have to be under 300kb. You can use any full song as a ringtone. I have several.
     
  5. Android_J

    Android_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    14
    You're also rooted, correct? I'm not rooted and cannot get a file over 300kb to be a ringtone. Samsung document says so as well.
     
  6. ~Reaper~

    ~Reaper~ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    13
    or use the free app i am using it is called

    Rings Extended

    free on the marketplace
     
    GreatBigDave and MugetsuNoYoru like this.
  7. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    That's interesting, that 'root' would lift that restriction. I just brought up the context menu for an MP3 file using Astro and under 'Music Options' it had 'set as ring tone' and it worked great (~4MB file, Creep by Radio Head :) )
     
  8. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    ...and if you DO put them in a folder named Ringtones, they DO show up with all the other ringtones in Settings.
     
  9. Android_J

    Android_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    14
    I stand corrected. Just put music in Ringtones folder and all is good. :)
     
  10. JxMxD

    JxMxD New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ringdroid from the App Market. Let's you make ringtones and notifications as well.
     
  11. Racktacular

    Racktacular Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the responses, as I am an iphone convert and am getting used too the android OS.

    What if I don't have a microSD card? I currently copy/pasted the file to the SOUNDS folder. I don't see a ringtone folder anywhere.

    Also is that the same process to make that file my audio sound on notifications?
     
  12. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ringdroid ftw.
     
  13. Prim8

    Prim8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think I created one in the audio folder and put my ringtones in that.
     
  14. DaMajorPayne

    DaMajorPayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have an internal sd card in the phone. Just make a folder called Ringtones and drop your songs in there
     
    J.Rawand likes this.
  15. penright

    penright Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am new to smart phones period. I can not get my mp3 that was on my razor to work. It is 187k. I just tried the "astro" app (among many other sugestions) and when I pulled up the context menu, both "play" and "set ring tone" are greyed out and when I press either one nothing happens. If I click on it, it plays no problem. I have a Captivate. Anybody any thoughts?
     
  16. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ringdroid in the market. Make your own ringtones and they go right to your sounds where the onboard ringtones are.
     
  17. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    Try copying it directly to the /media/audio/ringtones folder and then see if it's available as a ringtone (via contacts, etc.)

    It's interesting you're getting the music context menu, but no available option to play or use as ringtone. It's almost like it's being recognized via the extension as an audio file, but then not once you get to the menu[?]

    I'd also try just any other MP3 file, and also check out (mentioned a couple of times above) RingDroid as a solution for clipping part of an MP3 then saving it as either a Ringtone or Notification.

    For hoots if you want to send me the MP3 to test on my end I'd be game too!
     
  18. penright

    penright Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, how can I get it to you?
     
  19. penright

    penright Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Now I am really confused, things are working this morning. I tried for days to get this to work. Now "Astro" is playing it on the context menu and it is showing up in the "ring tones" selections.

    Things that happened/changed yesterday:
    1. I did try the hack for fixing the GPS. Changing some settings, but also rebooting. (maybe rebooting?)
    2. Downloaded "cardstar", and "barcode scanner" (don't' see how)
    3. AT&T adjusted some settings. (maybe ... I just got the phone Tuesday, yesterday I got an email saying I was over my limit. BTW, soap box on, my wife has Sprint and unlimited data, come on AT&T, in AT&T defense in my area does have better coverage, soap box off. I going there is no way I did 2 gig in 3 days, at least I hope not. Anyway we contacted our corp rep and something was not setup right on the account, maybe resetting the settings from AT&T restarted/refreshed something?)

    Bottom line
    Thanks all for their time.
     
  20. mratlndmrk

    mratlndmrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    12
    I can confirm that this works. I had music on my SD card from my blackberry and I just had to copy the song I wanted as a ringtone to the folder listed above.
     
  21. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    Well, that's outstanding! I was going to say I copied the file over from my PC to the SGS via Bluetooth. Then long-tap selected it from the transfer folder (/sdcard/bluetooth) using Astro, got the proper Music Options, selected 'Ringtone' and all was just fine.

    What I *did* notice: if the MP3 is not scanned by the media scanner process, the Music Options via Astro are "grayed out". There must be some flag/status_bit that gets set when an MP3 gets tagged by the media scanner that Astro uses to determine if it's a viable use-as-a-ring-tone type object.

    When I placed your file - or any MP3 for that matter - into my /sdcard/media directory, that's marked as a 'No Media' location (since I don't want ringtones to appear in my music/media players), when I long-tap my Astro 'Music Options' are grayed out.

    I bet your media scanner didn't pick up the file initially and the reboot forces a full rescan, which would sort of confirm what I suggested above (i.e., media scanner has to scan the item for it to be set as a ring tone using Astro).

    Just glad you figured it out!
     
  22. Mrshimkill

    Mrshimkill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just bought a new samsung captivate and don't know how to set music as call ringtone or txt message ringtone
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Welcome aboard!

    I'll move this thread to the appropriate forum so the other users with that phone can better assist you.
     
  24. izmir41500

    izmir41500 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also use Ringdroid
     
  25. izmir41500

    izmir41500 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can download the Ringdroid app to make your own ringtones and notifications.

    There is another thread about how to use mp3 files that I didnt bother reading that you may want to look at by searching.
     

Share This Page

Loading...