How to get out of a ClockworkMod Recovery BootLoop


Last Updated:

  1. androiduser96

    androiduser96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    32
    1. Get SD card out of phone.
    2. Put it in your computer, if you have the adapter, or put the SD card on another device.

    Thats how I did it :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    This is worth a BUMP-Seems a few have been needing this lately(You testin'-flashin' Foos:eek:
    Always a good idea to download to your esternal SD right after root and leave it there just in case.
    Props to Shiny for the OP and MT for the creation:cool:
    Here is a video(Sorry if your neck hurts after watching it-will flip it in a few):eek:Last part was good for a laugh for sure:p

    Exitrecovery Video.mp4 - YouTube
     
  3. sikmyduk

    sikmyduk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    lg optimus s is rooted fine and i have grom. i used rom manager premium to install clockwork mod revovery and now every time i boot up it goes to recovery. clockworkmod v5.0.2.7 HELP


    itried exitrecovery and got E:Error in /sdcard/exitrecovery.zip
     
  4. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Did you try flashing the exitrecovery.zip:confused:
     
  5. abeauvais

    abeauvais New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering this issue i am having. My thunderbolt Bootloops in the middle of clockworkmod, and says E:/cannot mount chache/recovery and log but when i run this zip it wont finish in time
     
  6. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Because the zip wasn't made for the thunderbolt ._. (I think)
     
  7. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Might want to take a look over
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=2565060
    There might be some useful info to get you out of the problem:thumbup:
     
  8. PepperHead

    PepperHead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    LG Spectrum - Rooted. CWM recovery 5.8.2.0

    Put exitrecovery.zip on root of SD card. Choose it, applied it, Installaton Complete. You may now reboot your phone.

    Reboot goes right back in CWM recovery. Tried 3 times, same results. :confused:

    Help,
    Mark (aka PepperHead)
     
  9. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    PepperHead likes this.
  10. nasscar

    nasscar Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Dude, this saved my butt, THANKS MUCH. Now I get an error message saying that I need to have a METRO SIM card. Small problem compared to being totally screwed, if anything I can get one from Metro but is there a work around to this?

    Also, as long as Im rooted, I was enjoying playing with different ROMS. Any suggestions so I dont have this cataclism again?
     
  11. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Take look in your settings-about phone-what does the prl say/phone number is still there also? Let me know pls.
    As for the choice of ROMs they are all here dependent on the version you are on:
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=3617400
    You'll just have to do some trial and error(hopefully more trying) to see what works best for your phone:)
     
  12. nasscar

    nasscar Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2

    the PRL Version is 3029. this is all new to me so I have no idea whether that is a good thing or a bad thing, or any thing :rolleyes:

    As for the sim card issue .... it turns out that a spec of dust can go a long way in screwing up a perfectly good droid!

    thanks,
    paul
     
  13. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    3029 is the latest Paul so that's good:thumbup:
    I was asking as a lot of esteem's seem to magically go into "test" mode(prl would say 40000:eek:)
    What happened with the card:confused:
     
  14. skrapmetal

    skrapmetal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    44
    Another thing I've done when stuck in a boot loop is remove the battery, and hold down both volume buttons and the power button simultaneously for 5-10 seconds. That has worked for me in the past.
     
  15. nasscar

    nasscar Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I pulled the sim out, figuring I would see if I could do something before trekking to Metro, and there it was, sitting there like it was on a dinner plate, a tiny dog hair. How it got there I have no idea, but once I shooed it away, the sim worked fine.

    Im just glad to be up and running again. Its midterms for me and I was torn between writing about 'the exclusionary rule of evidence' and the three exceptions or trying to unbrick my cell. seems both will work out now.
     
  16. bluemonster

    bluemonster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you flash something on a lg android esteem? or how do you flash something in recovery?
     
  17. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    What's going on with your phone:confused:
     
  18. the anonymous

    the anonymous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
  20. the anonymous

    the anonymous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it only work for the lg esteem?
     
  21. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
  22. the anonymous

    the anonymous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    God i feel dumb... the link in the first post seemed general. I've got the galaxy player 5.0, us version, and i can't find a lot of support for it
     
  23. max25002

    max25002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    61
    Newbie's This Day's Lol Huh Biggie ;)
     
  24. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    No its all good!
    Welcome to AF BTW:)
    That's a phone-Samsung or?
    Looked for something in the device list but didn't see anything.
    If you have a model I could match it up that way also.
    Will be back in a few.hours-5am EST comes.quick :(
     
  25. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,078
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    We've all been there ;)
    And galaxy player? What's it doing? Maybe I can find something that may help you, no guarantees though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...