How To Get Rid Of Voicemail Notification?Support


Last Updated:

  1. PsychDoc

    PsychDoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    36
    My nephew is finding that even after he's cleared his new voicemails he is still getting the little icon notifying him that he was a v-mail in his notifications bar. There seems to be no way for him to clear this. He's deleted all his v-mails, then had someone call him and leave a message and then deleted that one. Nothing seems to make the icon go away from the notification bar. He brought it to a Verizon store and the tech guys couldn't help him. They suggested a hard reboot might be necessary. He doesn't want to do that for obvious reasons as he'd lose all his apps and email accts, etc.

    Anyone have any ideas what's going on or if there's a fix for this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Trekk

    Trekk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Honestly I have the same exact issue and I have no idea how to get rid of it. Tried everything except resetting the phone.
     
  3. rich_bown

    rich_bown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the UK and the only way I can do it is to check voicemail, let each message play for more than 3 seconds then delete the voicemail. Not sure if it's the same wiht you but hope it helps
     
  4. Trekk

    Trekk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well I have no messages and the voicemail icon still shows up same issue as poster
     
  5. catpowrd

    catpowrd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have a suggestion I am not sure if it will help since I am on Sprint but if this is the stock Verizon voice mail have you considered trying google voice mail instead. I stopped using Sprints v-mail on a couple phones long ago and switched to google vm. I have a google voice widget on my home screen and when I get a voice mail the first line of the transcript pops up so I get an idea what the person wants without even touching phone and if you get a lot of voice mails its handy to log on to your account with a computer to view and delete. I am waiting for Sprint to get the Nexus after you guys get all the bugs fixed.
     
  6. Trekk

    Trekk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    I factory reset phone voice mail icon is still there
     
    landolakes likes this.
  7. elmerjr128

    elmerjr128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    148
    Now THAT is strange. Return it for a new one?
     
  8. Trekk

    Trekk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Cant really its from the UK lol, I pulled sim card out, voice-mail icon dissapeared. I placed sim card back voicemail icon appeared. I am debating if I should reset with no sim card in the phone.
     
  9. Trekk

    Trekk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok so after a full day figured out how to fix it. Its a sim card problem changed my sim card called rogers and agent told me he will reset switch or send out an update reset switch to my phone. It fixed the problem

    Hope this helps
     
  10. PsychDoc

    PsychDoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    36
    Update:

    The problem was not the phone, it was a problem with Verizon's voice mail. They reset it for him, he changed his password and now all is well. They sent him a test v-mail, the icon showed up on the screen, he listened to it and hit "7" (erase) and the icon went away, as it should have all along. It was never a problem with the phone...the phone previously had just been showing the signal it was getting from Verizon.
     
  11. fernxtwo

    fernxtwo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    5
    HERE IT IS GUYS:

    Go to manage applications under settings and open the dialer. Click on clear cache/clear data.

    Done.
     
    umataro42, shira, ChetRipley and 2 others like this.
  12. Jay3

    Jay3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    67
    Switch to Google Voice for your voicemail if you can.
     
  13. ohmystarz3

    ohmystarz3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been frustrated with this problem for months. I finally googled the problem and found this forum thread.

    Within seconds I was doing what you suggested AND IT WORKED!

    I joined this community just so I could Thank You !!!!

    I am so happy I could kiss you ! :) <3 :)

    thank you soooo much ~~~~Lori
     
  14. viebroccoli

    viebroccoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    You guys, show some manners when dealing with the voicemail prompt. When she has deleted all your messages and what not, don't just abruptly leave the conversation without notice. Hit "*" to disconnect from her, like a gentlemen. Not only is this the courteous way to conclude a conversation, but in turn, she will also remove the voicemail icon in your statusbar.
     
  15. 816carpenter

    816carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked immediately! Well done.
     
  16. red66charger

    red66charger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    378
    Does this procedure clear the call history as well?
     
  17. aurora40

    aurora40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    62
    FYI, it was called "Phone" on mine vs "Dialer", and it did not clear the call history but did fix the voicemail icon. Nice!
     
  18. red66charger

    red66charger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    378
    Thanks and good to know. I like having the call history to look back on. I've had the voicemail icon hang on me a couple of times, but eventually it went away. Nice to know how to clear it.
     
  19. richjb54

    richjb54 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did not work for me. Funny that I never use Verizon's stock VM. I use YouMail and have done so since my Blackberry days. This just started yesterday.

    Just read Aurora's post and instead of Dialer, I tried Phone and that did work! I have both in my Apps. Thanks, Aurora!
     
  20. shira

    shira New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO glad I found this! I get visual voicemail via text AND I get an email of my voicemails. I do not want to have to listen to it to delete the silly icon, and it wastes valuable space on my home screen. Genius!
     
  21. webchimp

    webchimp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my Desire I had to go to the Phone option and clear the data there.
     
  22. DamonZ28

    DamonZ28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked on my Samsung Galaxy SIII as well. Thanks!
     
  23. umataro42

    umataro42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    66
    Thanks! I was getting this every time my phone was turned off and back on. I was able to temporarily get rid of it by long pressing the notice after pulling down the notification bar and it would give an option to go into the app and force stop it, but having a permanent fix is much nicer.
     
  24. cedflorida

    cedflorida New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have motorola droid 3 and it worked using aurora40 suggestion..thanks
     
  25. androidnoob9

    androidnoob9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S4 and aurora40's suggestion didn't work /: just in case this is relevant I can't check my voicemail because it isn't in my plan . Help ?!
     

Share This Page

Loading...