How to Increase Droid X Call QualityTips


Last Updated:

  1. ghamden

    ghamden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    14

    Advertisement
  2. &roid

    &roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    92
    Ok..........who's gonna try it first?
    BTW..... 7764726 spells "program"
     
  3. Navychief52

    Navychief52 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    8
    I did it..... no damage.
     
  4. kwest12

    kwest12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    69
    This is the exact same trick the Incredible users used and the Droid users used and probably users of other phones as well. Like the article says, you're simply changing the phone to use a newer type of voice codec.

    From what I've read about this, the only reason that phones don't come this way out of the box is b/c not EVERYWHERE supports this codec yet. If you happen to be in one of the few areas unlucky enough not to support this codec, just change it back if it doesn't work.

    AFIAK there is no downside do making this change if this codec is supported in your area (which it most likely is). I know the article says something about faster battery drain but I don't believe the Incredible users were reporting any increased battery drain after doing this either.
     
  5. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    13
    I tried it out and it made a slight improvement in call quality, noticeable but not night and day for me. It makes the DX use a newer codec to encode your voice so it should help if your network supports it. Easy to reverse if you find yourself in an area that doesn't support it.
     
  6. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    29
    I did this too, results are not life changing but very much improved in regards to clarity.
     
  7. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I did this same thing when I still had my DInc and it seemed to work.
     
  8. dguy

    dguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    277
    Just so you guys know, the revision B is a newer technology than the default A, but I read that only some 15-20% of Verizon's towers support B so far. This basically means that you're severely hurting your overall coverage if you force it to B. So only use it if absolutely necessary and if you find your signal is poor then go back to A.
     
    john0821 likes this.
  9. zandroidx

    zandroidx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm confused. If it doesn't work in all areas, does that mean that after you upgrade the codec that you might drive through an area where your phone no longer works specifically because of the codec? Even if they have Verizon service?
     
  10. dguy

    dguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    277
    Right. Rev A and Rev B are two different signals and most towers broadcast just A and some broadcast both. If you set it to B then your phone can only have service if it happens to be in range of a tower that has the B signal. If you're not having problems my suggestion is to just not mess with it and leave it at default.
     
    zandroidx likes this.
  11. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    My call quality is fine as is. Much better than with the Dinc. I don't need to mess with the codex as I did with the Dinc. Just sayin.
     
  12. Naughty#9

    Naughty#9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    i tried it and i still had poor reception. i guess my phone has a problem. i have a fair amount of static in calls. it is only clear if i am standing outdoors.
     
  13. john0821

    john0821 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    11
    It is clearer, but I just don't want to deal with the headache if I happen to be on the phone, and it switches to a tower that gives a bad signal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...