• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help how to install content to my phone?

vt6spd

Oct 4, 2010
Earth
Hello all,

I know, as a noob, I should search the forums and what not for answers, but really, some questions are too simple to just answer than go through pages upon pages of stuff that doesnt' really answer your question...

Here is my question;

How do I install programs/recommended downloaded content to my phone? I mean, SDK? db? APK? What is all of this?

I have tried to install things from my computer- like market enabler, but my phone doesn't even see it. I can drag the file from my computer to my phone, but where am I supposed to put it in my phone?

Please help? How do I install content/files on my phone?

99.99% of what you want to install on your phone will be available in the Android Marketplace and doesn't require any special software, tools or methods to install. Just browse/search to find the app in the marketplace. You should have an icon that looks like a green and white shopping bag called "Market". There are other 3rd-party apps for exploring the marketplaces, such as AppBrain App Market, AppAware, AppsFire, My Market, etc.

See the Captivate FAQ:
App Management - CapFAQ

Upvote 0
My phone was rooted. That was interesting. Last night while in the forums I was playing around with some of the features of those aps we find in the market place. Titanium backup- I have had this for sometime and didn't realize you could delete ATTcontent from the phone! How cool, not! I ended up having to do a master reset on my phone and now I cannot download anything from the market place. When I try to download my old aps, the download says it will start, but it just sits there and nothing happens. Any thoughts on how I could fix this? UGH.