how to install diff kernal in sholes rom


Last Updated:

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    I want to install a diff kernal in the sholes rom first is this ok to do and cause no problems i want to do it cause i kno with certain ones then yuo can cpu temp so how do i install one and which one should i
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Put the file on your sd card.

    adb shell
    su
    flash_image boot /sdcard/<filename>

    Yes, you can run other kernels on the sholes ROM from posts I have seen, but I'd suggest you wait, as the kernels that support CPU temp reading (Taz's kernels on Alldroid) have a defect that breaks how profiles work in setcpu.
     
  3. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Never had an issue with Taz kernels and setcpu profiles.
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Same here, I have always used Taz's kernels and my profiles work fine, and yes I did verify that by plugging it into the charger and checking the bogomips, it went to 550 like I have it set in the profile.

    Now to the OP, if you don't know what adb is then you need to do some searching and learn how to install and use it. Alternatively you could just download a nandroid backup from taz's post at alldroid and flash it that way. When you go into sprecovery and select backup/restore you need to choose perform a advanced restore then choose backup, find the one you downloaded and then MAKE SURE that only Boot has a * next to it.
     
  5. Ninthwonder

    Ninthwonder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1

    where exactly do you go to use these command prompts
     
  6. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You need to install the android sdk on your computer, then you open a cmd prompt, and cd to the directory you have adb in. If you haven't done any of that then just do the nandroid install option unless you want to take the time to learn.
     
  7. Ninthwonder

    Ninthwonder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey thanks CRP appreciate the quick response

    one more thing

    is there a how to guide for these things?
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    I know there is a few around, not sure if we have one here or not. Try searching for ADB and make sure it is a title search, but if you use google you should find some even better guides for it. Try either "Noob guide to android sdk" or "how to install adb", or whatever else like that.
     
  9. Ninthwonder

    Ninthwonder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will do thanks for the help
     
  10. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
  11. NeuroNY

    NeuroNY Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was in the same spot as you, and a lot of people suggested going to rootyourdroid.info, which is a great general guide for this stuff. Specifically for ADB, the link is Android Debug Bridge | Root Your Droid
     

Share This Page

Loading...