How to install Recovery Image And Galexo ROM's


Last Updated:

  1. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2

    I know this is not a new thread.

    But i couldnt found a answer on the old thread.

    " With the phone plugged in via USB and the phone off go to command prompt by typing in cmd in search or run box in windows and cd to the tools directory then

    [FONT=&quot]Type: fastboot flash recovery recovery.img [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]It will say... < Waiting for device >[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Long-press the two Call buttons on the phone and you will see it load in fast boot and confirm file transfer was successful.[/FONT]

    [FONT=&quot]The new recovery image will be flashed "[/FONT]



    I read the above from other thread but i could not understand.

    For info, i am having window vista home premium. could anyone explain again the same above in blue colour ? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    What *exactly* do you not understand?

    You need to run the Command Promt by typing
    Code (Text):
    1. cmd
    in the search box in the Start Menu and pressing Enter/Return key.

    You need to have path to the Android SDK in system PATH variable (though I suspect you've no idea what that is...) Or you need to change path in command prompt before executing fastboot. Type
    Code (Text):
    1. cd c:\YourPathToAndroidSDK\
    and press enter. Android SDK is where files like adb.exe and fastboot.exe are located. You must know, where those files are on your computer.

    Then you need to type
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    and execute this command. The rest is pretty obvious form the original description.

    If this is way over your head, go download JC6 with integrated recovery (see Latest Firmware sticky thread). You can then simply put rectoolz.tar.gz on your SD card and flash the firmware with integrated Recovery. No need to do fastboot.
     
    kalanjeya likes this.
  3. Kouske

    Kouske Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    6
    @kalanjeya - do you have the android sdk on your computer? :x
     
  4. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    kalanjeya likes this.
  5. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Never before ..only after informale explained here with video, it is done :p
     
  6. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Informale,

    Thank you so much. I have flashed now the recovery image file.

    Now i have rectool.tar.gz and Galaxo_V1.6.2.zip in the SD card.

    I have unmounted the SD card, swithoff the phone now.

    and

    I trying to boot into recovery but it is not detecting. It says "the archive rectool.tar.gz was not found in the SD card ".

    Now i need to confirm , that recovery.img file in my PC location C:\android-sdk\tools

    is to be same as recovery file ( not img extension ) in rectool.tar.gz in SD location as it been demonstrated in video file ?

    :confused:

    let me check it from other thread , meanwhile if you got time, plz guide me
     
  7. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    when it says sdcard is doesnt mean your external memory card. it means the storage of the internal media which is named /sdcard/
     
    kalanjeya likes this.
  9. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    oooooooooooooh !!!

    I hope , i am reaching the milestone now.

    " Boot into recovery (VOL DOWN >> CALL >> END CALL) and do a G.apps backup. It should take 10 to 12 seconds. Anything like 1 or 2 seconds means it failed - reboot into recovery and go again

    [FONT=&quot]- Wipe in recovery, it'll reboot into recovery when done[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]- Apply sdcard:update.zip it'll reboot into recovery when done "[/FONT]

    when i do the above, i struck up while apply sdcard:update.zip.

    it says opeartion aborted even if i press home button .

    :confused:
     
  10. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    Apparently, you don't have update.zip on your /sdcard/ .

    Choose apply any zip instead and select Galaxo_V1.6.2.zip.
     
  11. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Informale,

    I tried with the second option but it is not extracting the files.

    when i copy the zip file into PC and tried to extract but it works. no problem with the zip file.

    another point i have to inform you ,

    that 1) before i do this i tried to take backup...it works

    2) when i try to backup gapp, it indicate me the restore option. but i havnt done backup before.

    3 ) when i tried to wipe / factory setup...it wasnt worked.

    It could be a problem of recovery image ?
     
  12. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    The instruction is a bit out of date. You don't need to backup Google Apps - you restore them from the original Samsung firmware file, which you also put on your /sdcard/ .

    Read how to install Galaxo from the original source - Drakaz's post: http://www.frandroid.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=116839
     
    kalanjeya likes this.
  13. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    I went through the drakaz thread.

    I followed all as per instruction. But i failed.:mad:

    But oneline , i am not cleared even there.

    " Push the official JC6 PDA update on the sdcard renamed as SAMSUNG.tar on your internal sdcard (adb push YOURJC6UPDATE/sdcard/SAMSUNG.tar "

    My questiong is ,

    1 ) Do need to put all the four file , PDA, PHONE,BOOT and CSC ???

    or just a PDA file i need to rename as samsung.tar ??

    This doubt i got since the main JC6 file was named as PDA.

    2) Do i need to rename the file Galaxo_V1.6.2.zip into update.zip ??

    3) why drakaz calls adb push YOURJC6UPDATE/sdcard/SAMSUNG.tar ??

    any adb push file manager is available ?


    Sorry for asking silly question
     
  14. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    1) You need the separate PDA.tar, not the one with all fw parts.
    2) you can name it WhatEverYouWant.zip - check the file if apply any zip does not work
    3) just put the file in /sdcard/
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    everything you need file wise is here
    Index of /files/i7500/galaxo 1.6.2/

    read the instructions to the letter on drakaz site and you will be able to do this
    it works if you follow the instructions. we cannot help much further than that as its you that is misunderstanding what we are saying and not taking any of it in.

    we dont want you to brick your phone. if you cannot grasp doing this then maybe you shouldnt as you probably wouldnt utilize much of the features of the custom rom anyway
     
    kalanjeya likes this.
  16. kalanjeya

    kalanjeya Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    :) ...

    yes.. i too fed up by spending muchtime and doing other excercise.

    I try my last and i would stayback by updating only JC6 with odin.

    anyway i thank you for all those who take my issue very seriously and answered for all my silly question. Especially informale....

    i say he is notonly informale, he is ultimale :)....

    thank you ulti and rasta .
     
    informale likes this.
  17. Micksakiii

    Micksakiii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't restore G.Apps on recovery when i tried install Galaxo.

    It's restore aborted how can i do?
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    please read everything here
     
  19. nealexus

    nealexus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how i can do this procedure on Motorola milestone?
     
  20. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    Why don't you try asking in the droid/milestone forum?
     

Share This Page

Loading...