How to install ROM


Last Updated:

  1. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright so i just rooted my phone, I viewed other threads and I couldnt find exactly what I was looking for in simple words. So the question is. I want to install the NexBeast rom. How do i do that?

    and how do you install kernels
     

    Advertisement
  2. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    Are you using SPRecovery or Clockwork?
     
  3. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    Ok you have SPRecovery, download the rom to your pc and rename it to update then plug in your phone and mount it to your pc and copy and paste the file to your SDCard, not in any folder. Then unmount your phone and power it off. Hold doown the X on your hard key board and power it up (keep holding X) when it comes up use your volume buttons to go down to wipe data or something like that (this will wipe all data from your phone and you will need to setup your gmail account again. then select install zip from sdcard (or something like that) then use you camera button to select it. New menu, select the 2nd option down allow install zip (or something like that) then select the 3rd option down.

    Once done reboot and you should have NexBeast
     
  5. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    wipe data/factory reset?.. there are like 500 nos and 1 yes which do i click
     
  6. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    The 1 YES...you will need to reload all your apps as well.
     
  7. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    the update did not work.. it said installation aborted.
     
  8. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    did you select the 2 option down (allow install of zip) first and then the 3rd option (install zip)?
     
  9. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    i click wipe data/factory reset. then i click yes. then i click apply sdcard:update.zip and then it tries then says installation aborted.. what else do i need to click?
     
  10. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    recheck your file name and location. it can be easy to add an extra .zip to the end of the file.... just a thought
     
  11. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    its named update (its in a zip file) and its in my standard sd card spot
     
  12. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    Ok in the install menu screen you should have

    Choose ROM from SD card
    Allow update.zip Installation
    Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)

    Highlight (Allow update.zip Installation) select it...then
    Highlight (Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)) select it.
     
  13. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    all it has is reboot system
    apply sdcard
    wipe data
    wipe cache.

    i dont have any allow
     
  14. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    do you have a android in the middle of the screen?
     
  15. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i have a phone with an exclimation mark
     
  16. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
  17. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have that little ninja icon tho
     
  18. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    ok then try downloading ROM manager from the market and you can flash SPRecovery with it. 2dn option from the bottom
     
  19. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    im working on this now. thanks for your time by the way. Im sorry to bother you
     
  20. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    No bother at all...that's what these forums are for...helping each other out. Good Luck
     
  21. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    i flashed via the same way i rooted. and now the file new so im trying
     
  22. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    every time i start up the phone. it just sticks on the motorola screen. am i brickeD?
     
  23. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait scratch that.. it was just a little slow
     
  24. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    now it jsut keeps replaying the droid screen.
     
  25. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it!!! Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...