How To Install Swype..Tips


Last Updated:

  1. BigHouseFan

    BigHouseFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help installing "swype". I have received the email, I have downloaded the "swype installer", now what? I go and try to type an email or text but it is the same version that was already on the phone. Is there supposed to be a "swype" icon or app? Help... please.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dsarch21

    dsarch21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    20
    are you changing your keyboard under settings?

    also, you can press and hold in the text box and change the input type
     
  3. bimmjo

    bimmjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    25
    you have to open the installer and enter email and password and let it install swype, then you have to go in settings and enable it.
     
  4. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    73
    Go to any input box and do a long press. Then select swype

    Sent from my Evo, using Tapatalk !
     
  5. kiz88

    kiz88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    22
  6. BigHouseFan

    BigHouseFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all!
     
  7. joemint

    joemint New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find the settings "App2SD" on the EVO. Do I need to root to install the Swype? Thanks for your help.
     
  8. Premonition

    Premonition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just clicked the link for the swype beta and it says that its not an andriod phone?
     
  9. SprintFun

    SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    In your phones browser, hit menu, then more, then settings, then click the checkbox for mobile view. Will make your phone detectable for the download.
     
    Premonition likes this.
  10. tourbound129

    tourbound129 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Been having the same problem all day. When I click on the installer a window pops up and says "Download of the package failed. No data network was found. An internet connection is required."

    Funny, I just used my 4G connection to download the installer.

    Not sure what to do here or what I am missing. Anyone had this issue?
     
  11. marvinlh

    marvinlh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i get the emal to download swype???
     
  12. Jcutsa

    Jcutsa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was having the same issue until i turned on my wi-fi and it downloaded like a champ. Hope this helps!
     
  13. slmcfarlin

    slmcfarlin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I turn off the clicking sound?
     
  14. Budah

    Budah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
  15. archie70

    archie70 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
  16. archie70

    archie70 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'd like to know this also
     
  17. tourbound129

    tourbound129 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Settings/Language and Keyboard/Swype Settings/Uncheck audio feedback
     
  18. tourbound129

    tourbound129 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. That took care of it. Weird how it won't let you download over 4G.

    I was getting frustrated with the Evo not connecting to my router at first and then I remembered I had to add its MAC address to the approved list.
     
  19. jerryr88

    jerryr88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    so i saw a modified swype keyboard on xda that was black with a red trace line but unfortunately they were for the g1 so it didnt fit my screen.. anyone have any idea how to modify them so we can have that color too.. i wanna change it to red and black because it fits well with our evos cuz its red and black

    NVM i got one :D
     
  20. takeheart

    takeheart Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where / how did you find this?
     
  21. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    221
    So is Swype better than Shapewriter? I got the beta too but haven't installed it yet. been using shapewriter and am fine with it. I don't know if I will like this better or not. I am still deciding whether to try it or not. My friend is trying it out 1st and he has been using shapewriter too.
     
  22. jerryr88

    jerryr88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
  23. mike p.

    mike p. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The site keeps telling me that the swype beta in now closed. Am I missing something?
     
  24. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    221
    My beta quit working. Says not compatible with my phone. I know I had the Evo software update but it worked after that for a day then quit. I don't know why.
     
  25. Bomix

    Bomix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    I might get flamed but doesn't swype give you a record keystrokes warning. I know this is practical procedure, but My co worker saw that disclaimer and was like NO way. Now the program keeps trying to install on his phone and he can't stop it. Why can't they just put out an apk like the rest without registering on their site? do they need my email so they can hack into it? Product looks freaking awesome though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...