How to install tutorials

Last Updated:

1. bhappyharsha

bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi,
    I am new to Android. Can someone tell me if there is any tutorial or if someone can tell me how to install an application (step by step) and particularly, the following:

1. How to Boot into Recovery.
    2. Fix Package permissions.
    3. Apply any zip from SD and choose one particular zip.
    4. Also, how to install non-market applications.

Regards,
    Sri Harsha.

Advertisement
  2. weasel

weasel Well-Known Member

1. Volume down+call button+power
    2. & 3. will become self evident when you are in recovery. ( I'll presume you are using one of Drakaz's recoveries )
    4. Make sure you check the box in your settings menu ( I think its in settings/applications. Check the box to allow installation of non market apps. If you don't have market access currently, you'll need to go to one of the alternative markets and download an app installer.

3. maurinet

maurinet Well-Known Member

There are a lot of guides and tutorials in this forum, do a little search and you should be able to find everything you're looking for... you can also take a look at my tutorial (see my signature).

Good luck!

4. bhappyharsha

Ok... This is very weird... I try to press "Volume down+ Call Button+Power" together and all that happens is the volume comes down, call starts to the last dialed number, and power off menu appears but the recovery does not open.

I tried this when the phone is turned off but that just brought me to the home screen :(

Please let me know if there are any settings i should have. I have the USB Debugging option enabled, if that matters.

Regards,
    Sri Harsha.

5. DaSchmarotzer

DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

First of all the phone has to be turned off.

Also, you should keep the Volume down button pressed, then the Call button pressed and the the Power button pressed (without releasing any of them).

Tell us how it goes. ;)