How to know if my android phone is rooted or not?


Last Updated:

  1. Denverguy

    Denverguy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a newbie to the android phones ,I got the samsung vibrant for tmobile last month ,i downloaded an app from the market which is one click lag fix(RyanZA's) ..and accidentally tapped a button which says: root your phone it took few seconds and said that my phone is rooted.......Is that possible ?

    Is there anything that i can do to know if my phone is really booted or not?

    i looked at the history here in this foroum and found a similiar post i ,so i downloaded the titanium back as what was said in there and upon opening it an Error message comes up :
    "sorry,I could not acquire root privileges .this application will*not*work!please verify that your ROM is rooted and includes busybox and try again "

    does that mean my phone is not rooted?
    should I still expect to recieve the update from tmobile in november?cause this is what i'm concerned about !
     

    Advertisement
  2. wearespacepeople

    wearespacepeople Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your phone is not rooted. Would be pretty hard to accidentally root your phone.
     
  3. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    open up your one click lag fix.. is the option to unroot your phone in green text? if it is, then you are rooted. if the option to root your phone is green, then you are not rooted.
     
  4. wearespacepeople

    wearespacepeople Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Even if he hit the root phone button he would have to reboot into recovery and hit reinstall packages, amiright? Would be pretty hard to do that accidentally.
     
  5. Denverguy

    Denverguy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    the unroot option is red,and if i tapped "force anyway"it would say unroot error:nill
     
  6. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    I would hit the root button, let it finish, then reboot, then go back in and see what is there. If you dont want the root then select unroot
     
  7. Denverguy

    Denverguy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought of that but upon reviewing the comments on the app ..people said that everything is ok with it except the unrooting which doesnt work right..
    so i didnt want to risk that .as i dont want to root my phone .
    and would rather wait for the software update in november
    any other idea ?
     
  8. vud911

    vud911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    11
    Only other idea is to Odin back to stock. But I doubt you want to go that route if you are too chicken to let your phone be rooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...