how to load midis for ring tonesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ned23

    ned23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a bunch of midi files for ring tones from my old HTC WM phone. Wondering what directory to drop them into for my new Samsung M900.

    I can see the SD card, but no system directories like in Windows Mobile.
     

    Advertisement
  2. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Have you tried just dropping it anywhere on the SD card? the built in media player (should) detects all music.
     
  3. ned23

    ned23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, I dropped the midis onto the sd card. It looks like you have to go to each file and go to the menu and select "use as ringtone". Not as simple as just dropping them into a directory. Also, they're now in the music libray, so if u play on shuffle, it incudes ringtones.

    LOL!
     
  4. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just make a directory called "ringtones" on the SD card and put them in there... they'll all show up when you go to select your ringtone. This info is also in the tips and tricks sticky, or maybe it's the FAQ one... I forget now.
     
  5. ned23

    ned23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think they are, but its not a top-level folder. I,ll try that, thx.
     
  6. zippy

    zippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    18
    Same thing for Midi's ;)

    ** My folders had to be setup this way to read tags and avoid putting alarms and ringtones into Music lists for stock Music player:

    Root of SDCard:
    * create folder call it music and put *.mp3s in there for playback and listing in default music app
    * create folder called media, under it create a folder called audio, then under it create folders "Alarms", "Notifications" & "ringtones". Use these for those files and they will auto list for you
     
  7. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hm.. I tried this and now I have duplicates for most of my ringtones, notifications and alarms-- any suggestions? (have already powered off & back on)
     
  8. hockeymom

    hockeymom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know of how to clip part of the mp3 for the ringtone? There are certain songs I want the chorus instead of the beginning of the mp3. Take Crazy Train from Ozzy for example, that's ok bc the first few chords are what I want but there are others I just want the chorus.
     
  9. TurboFool

    TurboFool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem with this is you can't set them as the ringtone for individual people. Any idea how to do that?
     
  10. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    389

    Download ringdroid from the marketplace. You can do it right on the phone.
     
  11. hockeymom

    hockeymom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes go to contacts --> select a contact --> menu --> edit contact --> and swipe to the bottom and select ringtone. Quite a few steps but it allows you to set it for each one.
     
  12. hockeymom

    hockeymom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I figured I had to go and download an app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...