1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How to make sure I do not use any data AT ALL.


Last Updated:

  1. T0ngster

    T0ngster New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have exceeded my data limit for the month, my parents are gonna kill me..
    I have always used "Use only 2g networks" when i was not using the internet.
    Is it due to the apps that are causing the high data usage? As I have installed some games in the month, using my Wi-Fi
    But even so, I have already ticked the "Use only 2g networks" option.
    Is this the correct way to turn off my 3G??

    Or is there any app that can completely turn off the 3G and make sure I do not use any data AT ALL?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,009
    Likes Received:
    5,284
    Oh dear me!

    Data is data I'm afraid.
    Whether it's 2G or 3G, so turning off just 3G won't save you data, just make it slower to load.

    I would be looking at the games you've downloaded as a culprit in data usage. If they are interactive then you will be eating data up as you play.

    To turn of mobile data go to Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile networks > Data enabled/Data roaming/National data roaming (untick the boxes).
     
    shelliewnj likes this.
  3. Howdie!

    Howdie! Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Downloading or streaming video is also a major data user. Avoid it (and gaming) over any kind of phone connection (3G, 2G, EDMA) if you want to throttle your data use and stay within your provider's "fair use policy". Because there is no such thing as an 'unlimited data plan'. Use only WiFi for video and gaming.
     
  4. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Search market for quick settings & download. open that, hit menu>customize and drag "Mobile data (APN)" up to the visible menu. disable APN to shut off ALL data. It says it keeps MMS on, but I always had to enable APN for mms, but it's not a dealbreaker. If you turn it back on and for some reason mobile data doesn't come back (almost never happens), just flip airplane mode on & off again and you'll be set!
     
  5. Howdie!

    Howdie! Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Download and install the free "Y5" app from the market. It automatically switches your phone to WiFi if you are within range of any hotspot that you were connected to before. So watch the notification bar for the WiFi symbol before you go gaming or watching videos again!
     
  6. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doesn't it do that automatically when wifi is enabled? I know if I'm out & about streaming pandora or something, and wifi is on, the 3g shuts off when I'm in range of my router
     
  7. piertown

    piertown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    I would like to know that as well.
     
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    540
    It does use wifi automatically if you have it on and you have access to it.
    Lots of people turn off wifi in an effort to save battery life.

    OP, I would love to know why you think using 2g instead of 3g would use less data.
     
    piertown likes this.
  9. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. shelliewnj

    shelliewnj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    199
    So Ironass, I am a total newbie to smartphones in general. What you are saying is if I uncheck the "Data Services" box which says "Enable data access over Mobile network" that I will incur NO data charges? I want to switch to the lowest data plan, and I don't want any surprises until I can bump back up again. Then I could turn it on intermittently and get updates on email or whatever without worrying that background apps are using data, correct?
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor Guide

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    13,915
    Likes Received:
    3,895
    Switching off 3G does not turn off data. That just tells your phone to not use 3G network and only 2G, which still allows data at low speeds.

    The Data services box is what you should untick to turn off data. Even if you have 3G enabled, no data will be used.
     
  12. funpig

    funpig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    68
    You can ask your carrier to temporarily block your data usage.
     
  13. AllThingsPure

    AllThingsPure Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    Every phone model is different, so it is a difficult task finding out where all the data switches are hidden and buried. Miss one and you could be in for a huge mega $$ bill, especially when roaming.

    The safest way, without asking your provider to unprovision data services, is to deliberately enter the wrong APN Name in ALL your data configurations. Add an "X" to the end of all your APNs in the phone. When you need them again, remove the "X".
     
  14. gregs887

    gregs887 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    53
  15. jc1843

    jc1843 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Onavo from the Market/Play Store. Simple and works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...