How to play with Transform without activating?Support


Last Updated:

  1. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    I won't be activating my newly received Transform for a couple of days. With any other Android phone, I am able to boot the phone, use WiFi, and play with it before activation.

    The Transform is stuck at "Please wait while we set up your device services...". I cannot get the phone to boot into the Android home page. Also, I see in the manual that a Sprint ID is required after activation?

    Does anyone know how to get the phone to a point so I can have a look around without activation?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. berger1980

    berger1980 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    A few of us had thought yo ucould bypass the setup of sprints ID svc. We were wrong, it has to be downloaded and used, at least the first time. I tried everything before act, and nothing would work, until you activated and downloaded an ID pack.
     
  3. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    I read on another forum that this tactic is described as "Sprintrizon", as it is akin to Verizon's control over their phones. Too bad, I always liked how Sprint, even with bloatware, didn't take over the phone as much Verizon with their apps.
     
  4. kristv

    kristv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    20
    You can uninstall the Sprint ID thing afterwards though. It does suck that you have to let it install in the first place. I've been to 2 different shops that didn't have a working display one on the floor and both places couldn't bypass the automatic activation thing to let me see the screen and play with it a bit.
     
  5. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yea it's too bad. For my Evo, I was able to use WiFi, register my gmail, and install all the apps before I ever activated it.
     
  6. berger1980

    berger1980 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2

    I was actually going to uninstall the ID, but I still get weary when the popup comes up and basically says "you may need to reload your ROM." I'm going to leave mine.
     
  7. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    i'm having second thoughts on getting this phone now. i'm waiting to see if sdx will support this phone. if i get this phone i'll probably get it rooted and flash to a rom without sprint id. i don't like the whole sprint control thing.
     
  8. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes... "Sprintrizon"
     
  9. Ryan92394

    Ryan92394 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you do need to download a sprint ID first to use it, but once youve installed one you can then remove it and go to the stock one called "My ID" I don't think it has a home launcher till you download it from sprint.
     
  10. TheRH

    TheRH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    4
    Download the "sprint" one, which is basically stock and no add other than the standard Sprint apps. After than install launcher pro and customize away. Works great and no lag at all. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...