How to prohibit my phone from using mobile internet? (galaxy3/I5800)Support


Last Updated:

  1. kajuzas

    kajuzas New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, guys. Ive bought this phone and cant find a setting that would disallow my phone from using mobile internet. I really don't want to pay any money when i accidently open an application that uses internet. I think it would be patheticly stupid if there wasnt a setting like this, wouldnt it? Thank you for your help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    I don't have this phone, but on 1.6 Android (Donut, you have 2.1 Eclair) I used apndroid (has a useful widget, and when activated it changes your apn making it unusable, when deactivated it turns your apn back to normal state, re-enabling mobile data in the process)
     
  3. mohankarthik

    mohankarthik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    apndriod is awesome! Search for it in the market. And the widget from apndriod is amazing too.
     
  4. go4saket

    go4saket Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Apndriod is what you need. Its a free app and it will do the magic for you.
     
  5. haree

    haree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi
    i just bought the phone yesterday and not too happy some how im more confy withe tattoo on the tattoo i can long press the end key and get a pop menu which has the info if the mobile net is on or not on this phone the only way i see to keep the the same off is using the APN

    im ok with the phone but still feel the tattoo is more user friendly thanks god i still have it :D
     
  6. pushpak888

    pushpak888 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    apn widget is easy too put it on the homescreen and you can see at anytime the status of your net no need to press any button too.
     
  7. WilfMoralee

    WilfMoralee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    24
    an internet phone, then disable the internet??

    Hey Guys, look at my new Ferrari, any chance you could take the engine out? I'd rather just look at it!!
     
  8. preythap

    preythap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    u can do it by simple app as told above

    else u can do it manually by following simple steps

    Go to setings -> wireless and network -> mobile networks -> Access point names
    left soft key -> new apn just give name as blank apn as blank --> save
    now enable this blank apn when u dont need gprs select genuine apn when u need gprs
     
    shazaam1983 likes this.
  9. barqers

    barqers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    72
    Personally, I would root your phone and install DroidWall. That way you can specify which applications will actually use the 3G network. I use it and block every application except for k-9 mail and messaging services so that I get my emails and picture/video messages still.
     
  10. funpig

    funpig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    72
    I do not have a monthly data plan on my new phone (LG). I have a pay per use data plan (of course the rate is very high, at least $1 per mb). I just use wifi when I want to play with internet, etc. I used the toggle on my phone to switch off the mobile network. I found that the data would still sometimes turn on, maybe because I accidently toggled the switch on the touchscreen or maybe one of the apps turned it on automatically whether I like it or not. I called up my provider and they blocked the data usage for me on their end. I have the option to unblock anytime, but I prefer using the wifi (save about $400 per year in data usage charges).
     
  11. Kpsg25690

    Kpsg25690 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    also try Quick Settings if APNdroid is not working
     
  12. magneto

    magneto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been using quick settings and absolutely love it. great app
     
  13. foobar66

    foobar66 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    In the mobile network settings, you can just change the network modus to "GSM only". Should be as simple as that.
     
  14. ranadip.bswas

    ranadip.bswas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    try this code ultimate way to stop data connection.. *#*#4636#*#*

    then in phone info press menu & u will get the option u want..!!
     
  15. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just got my phone yesterday and I called my provider (Telus) and asked them to block 3G data (mobile internet). I would have to call them to have that option reactivated. The only way I can access the internet now is through wifi which is all I want for the moment.
     
  16. barqers

    barqers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    72
    Arnold, you could have just disabled the APN in settings->wireless and network->mobile networks->APN
     
  17. arnold22

    arnold22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    6
    That option would work but I call my provider to make sure they blocked it from their end as well. If I log on to my account "disable data" is under phone features. Though I am not sure if all service provided will do this.
     
  18. barqers

    barqers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    72
    Oh okay, I understand :p
     
  19. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,719
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    There's another reason you might not want to access the internet. When you are in an are that has absolutely no signals, it will wear down the battery searching for a signal. We had batteries discharge almost totally going across the Navajo reservation years ago. And these were phone only phones. Now if you are roaming, you only get phone - you can't even check voicemail. So save the wear and tear on the battery. You have to wait until you get bars or wifi. I still turn the phone off going across Monarch Pass in CO. Gunnison does have service, but then it's blah until you get to Montrose, CO.
     
  20. skivit

    skivit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    his is my first android phone, old qtek had a data service toggle, worked perfectly. On this Apollo i switched of the background data, most of the time on gsm only, and the autosync switched off. After first month phone bill was nearly 10x normal amount.
    As i had no special data contract you can guess it costs a lot. told in shop, phone will still download even if the aforementioned features are disabled.
    Will be changing contract coz even the navigation app needs a data stream, one of the reasons i bought the phone was to get rid of all the extra cables with the gps reciever etc.
    love the phone, but really wary phone dialling an update connection by itself, and also looking for an old fashioned on/off switch that works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...