1. Android Forums is going down for maintenance at 6:30PM Central time. Downtime is expected to be less than 30 minutes, we apologize for any inconvenience!

How to reflash using kies


Last Updated:

  1. Gadgetgeezer

    Gadgetgeezer New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Galaxy S which keeps freezing. Wanted to retry flashing it with kies. It says I am on the latest firmware but how can I simply wipe it and reflash just to make sure I don't have some kind of corruption? sorry for daft quesion but newbie.

    Thanks

    Spencer
     

    Advertisement
  2. dc2447

    dc2447 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    9
    do a factory reset?

    reboot, hold vol up, power and middle button
     
  3. Gadgetgeezer

    Gadgetgeezer New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I go into restore mode and delete the cache then plug into kies, will it know there is no firmware and download new?
     
  4. puccaso

    puccaso New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    id like to know the answer to this also,
    i want to reflash my galaxy tab,
    but kies doesnt allow to reflash, from what i can see- but i hope im wrong

    help plz
     
  5. andy-roid

    andy-roid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    52
    the only thing you can do is flash it back to 2.1 with odin them update it again with kies thats what i did when i bricked my phone
     
  6. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    You can't reflash using KIEs. Even if you do a factory reset, the firmware is still there. The same goes for cache.
     

Share This Page

Loading...