• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How to reinstall apps after ROM flash?

compression

Lurker
Aug 25, 2010
WARNING NOOB ALERT! IF BEGINNER-TYPE QUESTIONS FRUSTRATE YOU, PLEASE MOVE ON.

After months of cursing my phone (MyTouch3g, old one, "B" type), I decided to try a new firmware/ROM as one last chance before I threw it in a river.
I have never done this before so I had to learn it all from scratch, I think I did it right...anyway I am now running CyanogenMod 5.0.8 Firmware 2.1
(p.s. I feel like i could take a final exam in computer science now...).
All is good, it is fast, pretty and has a few bells and whistles my old OEM rom didnt.
But, I dont have ANY APPS. Only camera, gallery, browser, messaging, contacts and dialer.
Obvioulsy Cyanogen can not include Google proprietary apps in its package.
I did install something that allowed me to sign into my Gmail account (Gapps-ds-ERE36B-signed.zip) so now I get new email notifications, and my contacts list is populated with my google contacts, but I have no "gmail" icon anywhere. I dont know how to open gmail!

So, how do I get all the basic apps back?

Here is what I need that I currently dont have:
Gmail (personal)
Email (or K9, once I have the market) (for work)
Android Market
Google Maps with Nav
Calendar
etc

If you can help me it would be greatly appreciated. Please dont assume I know anything. Just basic english would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I "think" I did....This was more of a pain in the ass than I expected and I got in over my head, so I am surprised I didnt completely F-it up. So I read a lot of stuff, did a lot of stuff, it is all a blur!

Definitely didnt use Titanium, but I do remember doing some step that was supposed to be a backup. How do I check? Search the SD card from my PC?

Upvote 0