1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How to reinstall apps after ROM flash?


Last Updated:

  1. compression

    compression Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    WARNING NOOB ALERT! IF BEGINNER-TYPE QUESTIONS FRUSTRATE YOU, PLEASE MOVE ON.

    After months of cursing my phone (MyTouch3g, old one, "B" type), I decided to try a new firmware/ROM as one last chance before I threw it in a river.
    I have never done this before so I had to learn it all from scratch, I think I did it right...anyway I am now running CyanogenMod 5.0.8 Firmware 2.1
    (p.s. I feel like i could take a final exam in computer science now...).
    All is good, it is fast, pretty and has a few bells and whistles my old OEM rom didnt.
    But, I dont have ANY APPS. Only camera, gallery, browser, messaging, contacts and dialer.
    Obvioulsy Cyanogen can not include Google proprietary apps in its package.
    I did install something that allowed me to sign into my Gmail account (Gapps-ds-ERE36B-signed.zip) so now I get new email notifications, and my contacts list is populated with my google contacts, but I have no "gmail" icon anywhere. I dont know how to open gmail!

    So, how do I get all the basic apps back?

    Here is what I need that I currently dont have:
    Gmail (personal)
    Email (or K9, once I have the market) (for work)
    Android Market
    Google Maps with Nav
    Calendar
    etc

    If you can help me it would be greatly appreciated. Please dont assume I know anything. Just basic english would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. fearofth3dark

    fearofth3dark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm not sure about those apps in particular but did you backup anything before you flashed a ROM. Like did you use nandroid backup, titanium backup or anything else?
     
  3. compression

    compression Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I "think" I did....This was more of a pain in the ass than I expected and I got in over my head, so I am surprised I didnt completely F-it up. So I read a lot of stuff, did a lot of stuff, it is all a blur!

    Definitely didnt use Titanium, but I do remember doing some step that was supposed to be a backup. How do I check? Search the SD card from my PC?
     
  4. fearofth3dark

    fearofth3dark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    14
    Now honestly I don't know if your phone is different. I can only tell you for sure about my phone. For me the full backup would be on my SD card in the folder clockworkmod and then the folder backup. Because if you did backup everything, you could recover to how you had everything originally, use Titanium Backup to backup all of your apps, flash the ROM again, and then use Titanium Backup again to recover all of your apps. But like I said I don't know much about your phone in particular so I don't know if it'd be the same. Also how did you do the ROM? Did you use ROM manager?
     
  5. compression

    compression Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, heres a weird thing. In the Google global search bar, I can type in maps, calendar, terminal, etc and the applications show up in the search results, but there are no icons for them anywhere on the desktop or in the tray! How do i get the icons?
    Any ideas? Thanks!
     
  6. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Have you tried adding shortcuts to those applications on your homescren? Maybe that would be a workaround if they appear in the add shortcut menu.
     
  7. muab

    muab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    42
    I am on a different phone, but have you tried long-pressing on the screen and choosing: Applications?

    On my phone/launcher It will list all the Apps I possess and I can choose one and it places that icon on my home screen.

    Or am I missing the point here?
     
  8. compression

    compression Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Holy carp you are right!!

    1. I long press on the desktop
    2. select "shortcut"
    3. select "applications" and they are all there.
    4. select the application I want and it shows up on the desktop!
    NICE! thanks.
     
  9. muab

    muab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    42
    Excellent. Glad to hear that worked.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Exactly what I said 1 post above the solution you used.
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Since you are using cyanogenmod rom, you need to flash google apps after you flash the rom
     
  12. muab

    muab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes, I think we posted at almost the same moment. When I finished my post I saw that you had commented too.
     
  13. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Good job it helped, that is what the main goal was, no matter who helped.
     
  14. boscharun

    boscharun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just to add, once you install android market, you can easily push your old apps from android market to your phone from your computer browser. That's way easier than doing it directly from market on your phone.
    How to Reinstall Android Apps
     

Share This Page

Loading...