How to reinstall system apps _as_ system apps.


Last Updated:

  1. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    I deleted a few system apps (all the social stuff, corp directory, email, etc). In a thread on DroidXForums (this one on the unrooting procedure) someone mentioned that they could not get the .604 update without some of the bloatware. Of course, this freaked me out a bit as I would certainly like to get Froyo when it comes out. So, I went about trying to reinstall the stuff I'd uninstalled. The system dump with all the default apps is here, and below is the procedure to get what you're missing reinstalled and visible as system apps. I used Root Manager but the same procedure should work for Root Explorer. If you prefer ADB I'm sure one of the more competent terminalists here can help you.

    -Place the apk(s) of the apps on your sdcard.

    -Use your chosen means to copy the apk(s) to /system/app (this will require making /system/app writable. In Root Manager just press the R/W key when you're exploring /system/app).

    -You now need to change the app's permissions. In Root Manager, long press on the app (in /system/app) and click on "permissions". Then make sure that only the following boxes are clicked: User Read, User Write, Group Read, Others Read.

    -Make sure you make /system/app read only again by clicking that box in the top right while you're exploring the folder.

    -Reboot phone.

    Now the apps should be loaded and the system should recognize them as system apps (you can verify by opening Titanium and noticing they're in red). This should make you good to go for whatever OTA comes. If you're unsure which apks in the system dump correspond to the apps you've deleted, just explore your /system/app and compare it to the system dump app list. Any apks in the dump but not in yours are what you're looking for.
     

    Advertisement
    locklady, amvv, SniperofFear and 10 others like this.
  2. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    This should be a sticky! I would however caution that when you're setting the permissions on these you must be very careful or you'll have a big fancy paperweight!
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Worked for me.
     
  4. Aydos

    Aydos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this. I just realized this morning that they did not count as system apps and then I saw this helpful post.

    I have one question though. Does Kindle show up as a system app if you did not remove it? It was not on my phone until the update.

    The reason why I asked is there is not a Kindle apk in the back up that I saw.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah, Kindle shows up as a system app. The system dump posted above, and all of those I've seen, are from after the .604 update, so they all include the Kindle app. It's helpfully named "redding-7648-signed-zipped.apk". We should probably have a list which corresponds apks to apps, so people don't get confused. There were a number of apps I deleted but couldn't find until I just started installing all the apks in the system dump that weren't in my /system/app folder. For instance, Corporate Directory is MotoGAL.apk.
     
  6. Aydos

    Aydos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome! Thank you very much. I have one further question. What does NFS show up as?

    Thank you again.
     
  7. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    The Need for Speed game? That's actually not a system app, though it does come preinstalled. I uninstalled that from the "settings --> manage applications" menu when I first got the phone. It's not listed in the system dumps so it shouldn't be needed for any OTA updates (as far as I know). I'm unsure where to find a copy if you wanted to reinstall. There's a NFS game in the market, but it's $2 so it's obviously not the demo that came preinstalled on the X. Perhaps someone who hasn't deleted it can ferret out the apk (should be located in data/app) and post it?
     
  8. Larryf

    Larryf Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I get the apps from the PC (zip file of all apps) to the phone's SD card?
     
  9. androidbrett

    androidbrett New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used drag and drop method to put the apps on the SD card, is this OK?

    Can someone post steps to copy the apps back?

    "-Use your chosen means to copy the apk(s) to /system/app (this will require making /system/app writable. In Root Manager just press the R/W key when you're exploring /system/app)."
     
  10. androidbrett

    androidbrett New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm putting this here because I'm a complete noob but I figured out what the above directions mean and I want to share it with other noobs,

    I could not get the OTA update because I had removed blockbuster, amazon, and cityid completely. so i downloaded the zip file above that contains all of the apps, unzipped it, and dragged and dropped those three files on to the SD card. then i purchased root explorer from the market and used it to move the files from the SD card to the system/app folder. It is fairly straightforward how to do this once you play with root explorer for a bit. Then you're off to the next step: -Click on the apk once it's in /system/app and install it.

    I followed the steps exactly, rebooted, downloaded the OTA update and installed it with no problems. Thank you humungus for the directions!!
     
  11. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just plug the X into your PC, put it in Mass Storage mode, and drop the the apks into the root folder (i.e., not in any folder). Next, put the X back into Charge Only mode. Then, in Root Explorer/Manager, the apks will be located in /sdcard. Move them per above to /system/app and follow the rest of the instructions.
     
  12. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Drag and drop is fine. Make sure the X is in Mass Storage mode, move them over, put the X back into Charge Only mode, and move them to /system/app like specified above. Then follow the rest of the directions and you should be good to go.
     
  13. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Glad it worked. Hopefully we'll all be good for Froyo now.
     
  14. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    56
    i heard setting up apps like launcher pro as system apps would improve their performance, is there any truth to this?
     
  15. Sheba611

    Sheba611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks Humungus! Using your instructions I was able to re-install Blockbuster and City ID. I rebooted my DX and checked the apps with Titanium BU and they are red. Now I am ready for the next OTA update. Hoping it is Froyo.
     
  16. midijunky

    midijunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    can't you just chmod 755 the file from terminal and achieve the same result and not have to buy a 3rd party program? i'm pretty broke after buying this phone :rolleyes:

    if so, what would be the correct commands, anybody? I'm not a linux expert, I think that is the correct chmod command but I'm not 100%.
     
  17. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Find the thread for reinstalling Backup Assistant. The commands are in there. Just change the name of the APK to correspond with the one you are installing...
     
  18. Breukdance

    Breukdance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thanks guys worked very well!
     
  19. BigJim94

    BigJim94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for this post. I struggled with this until I set the permissions... Hopefully I remembered the things I took off... We will see when the update arrives.
     
  20. Breukdance

    Breukdance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    39
    Any way to test this to make sure other than factory reset and pray you don't go into boot loop?
     
  21. Sheba611

    Sheba611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    13
    The instructions did not say to factory reset the phone, only reboot, which I took to mean power cycle (turn off and turn on). That worked for me and I did not get boot loop. I only uninstalled 2 system apps to begin with and neither one was Backup Assistant.
     
  22. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    I've done a factory reset and had no problems. Of course, I made certain that all of the apps in the system dump were in my /system/app folder and that they all had the correct permissions. One surprise was that the NFS Shift demo was reinstalled on my phone after the reset. Weird.
     
  23. VDubBugMan53

    VDubBugMan53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    5
    i do not see 3g mobil hot spot in there. i did back it up with Titanium but i can not get it reinstalled
     
  24. VDubBugMan53

    VDubBugMan53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok so I found the hot spot is called my net but when I go to my rout manager and set system to rw I then go to move the file and astro will not let me. Any ideas as to why?
     
  25. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Move it using Root Explorer/Manager. Make sure that you've made /system/app RW. I don't know how Root Manager works, but in Root Explorer you can long press and it'll give you the option to move. Then go to /system/app (again, make sure this folder is RW), and paste it here. In Root Explorer it gives you a paste option on the bottom of the screen once you've selected to move something, since I don't have Root Manager I can't give you any details about how it works on there. Good luck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...