How To: Remove SenseUI and Enable JIT


Last Updated:

  1. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    *Note for anyone attempting to do this, Apps2sd is not working with this method currently*

    Flash latest OverClock kernal -http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=324420&d=1273525541

    Download QuickBoot -http://www.androlib.com/android.application.com-siriusapplications-quickboot-jDpx.aspx

    Download Home replacement App

    Open up Command Prompt (Go to run, type in cmd, press enter)
    Type in

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. cd C:\android-sdk-windows\tools === Press Enter
    3. adb devices === You should see your device listed
    4. adb shell === you should see # in the next line
    5.  
    first line-cd C\:xxxxxxxxx\tools should be your AndroidSDK tools directory


    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    3. cd /system/app
    4. ls
    5.  
    *MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A HOMEREPLACEMENT SUCH AS HELIX OR ADW*

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. rm -r Rosie.apk
    3.  
    Hit Home on Phone, Select New Launcher

    download http://www.multiupload.com/PIFU7GNSR5 - move to sd card

    type exit, should be back in tools

    type
    Code (Text):
    1. adb reboot recovery
    flash jit_update

    reboot

    Force Closes may occur, most common is
    HTC Widget Download Manager(process com.htc.RosieUtility)

    in CMD window(sdk tools folder)
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    3. cd /system/app
    4. ls
    5.  
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. rm -r HtcAddProgramWidget.apk
    3.  
    ^only if HTCWidgetDownloadManager is FCing^
    check google if something else is FCing

    QuickBoot App Reboot(latest Kernal prevents Shutting Phone down)
    enjoy your new phone!

    Thanks to:
    DroidKevlar(AF) - awesome guy who has walked me through the whole adb process
    Nephron(xda) - adb guide
    jcase(xda) - jit_update
    zanfur(xda) - OC kernel
     

    Advertisement
    lewa, draconus, ttran97 and 1 other person like this.
  2. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    I cannot get the mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system line to work, nor do i know where to get the kernal DL from, but i cannot wait to try it out when i get it to work.
     
  3. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
  4. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    ty ty
     
  5. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
  6. Murphy

    Murphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    5
    Any chance you can post the direct links to the Overclock download and the jit-update.zip download for us non-XDAers?

    TIA!
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    thanks man, i just did all this, rebooting now

    *fingers crossed*
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    this stuff comes from and is developed by the team at xda. it is a free sign up, if you are rooting and stuff it is highly recommended to have an account there.
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    reboot loop on aloy, fail.
     
  10. Murphy

    Murphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    5
    So you are saying I should just ditch this place cause the real stuff happens over there?
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    nope not at all, i visit both daily.
     
  12. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    906
  13. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    you might need to wipe ext partition to get past the bootloop. thats what i always have to do.
     
  14. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Nice work buddy. Glad you are sharing the knowledge with others. Caddyman, if you cant get out of bootloop, just drop me a line and Ill walk you through it.
     
  15. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Ok ima giver a nuther shot, thanks peeps
     
  16. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    The way I look at it, a lot of the root development is posted over at XDA, but this is a smaller community of root users, thus much easier to post for help and to discuss. Just go look at the post counts in threads over there.
     
  17. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Did you have to wipe your apps from ext3? I just got this thing all set up and hope that I don't have to do that...though I'm not even sure if I'm using a2sd. Couldn't find a setting to enable it unless it's automatic.
     
  18. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    it is automatic i think. i made a no ext nand backup and and with ext backup. if i restore from the no ext i have no apps, i have to load with ext restore to get my apps.

    i tried everything and still no luck

    aloy snow is hella fast without jit and clocked at 710, i was just wanting to tinker.
     
  19. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Do share when you get it sorted out! I'm assuming it's just a certain other Sense app that needs to be removed?

    Also, I thought we needed to run these commands if we use the updated JIT patch:

     
  20. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    I believe Caddy's issue is he uses a2sd. Heard problems when that is enabled. Dont know. Never tried nor will I.

    And about those commands. I tested those commands before on a diff ROM and when I did it messed with the phone. I have since then never ran those commands and never had any issues. Am I saying its the correct way? No, but it works for me and others, so dun know. Only way to learn is to try yourself.
     
  21. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    I'm glad everyone is using this to its full potential. Caddy, Kevlar is the man when it comes to helping with this, i wouldn't know almost any of this without him. I've never used a2sd so i'm not sure I can help. As for everyone else, if your a rooted user I highly recommend getting an xda account. The stuff that goes on there is awesome
     
  22. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    Having some trouble as Caddy with Aloyrius reboot
     
  23. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    apps2sd?
     
  24. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    I guess thats the issue, can't figure out how to fix it.

    Im so noob as you know.
     
  25. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    added links for
    jit_update
    OC kernal patch

    Quickboot to 1st post
     

Share This Page

Loading...