How to repack system.img


Last Updated:

  1. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hey all if anyone can help me on this....plz help i have searched a lot on this on internet and it wasn't detailed everyone stated to use linux which i don't have ( downloading ) and on windows they all write write this command? which command ? where to keep unpacked system.img files? i have downloaded mkfs.yaffs2.x86 something like that....where to keep it? Please help in detail i 'm newbie in ADB plz help and i decompiled it using cygwin unaffys tool only
     

    Advertisement
  2. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645
    U can repack the system.img using mkfs.yaffs command on ubuntu
    if u come online then i can guide u on this
    I know u wanna make a ROM for A85 using sytem.img but they cannot b repacked even if u succeed to unpack bcoz Nvidia recovery uses different .img decoder thats why i m telling u
    But i can guide u on this if u want to learn it for knowledge
    But the prequisite is u need Ubuntu
     
  3. samrox144

    samrox144 Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    274
    i repacked the system into system.img to test in AVD was by flashing the rom and taking a nanadroid backup ..after that just use that system.img in nanadroid backup and test
     
    cool.gautam likes this.
  4. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    526
    Hey, i posted the info abt unpacking in the A75
    Here
    need help i have unpacked the image long ago but then now need to pack it again ..
    none help received on that thread though !
     
  5. samrox144

    samrox144 Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    274
    well you can follow my method use flash the rom and get a nanadroid backup ....and you will have system.img
     
  6. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    526
    ok so you mean i must first clear the system partition in fastboot then flash the A75 ROM then push the files you want and then take CWM backup ,
    Hey that seems to be a brilliant idea !
     
  7. samrox144

    samrox144 Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    274
    no i mean make a rom of that system image and flash in recovery.after wiping everything now reboot recovery and take backup ..thats it now you have converted system folder to system,.img
     
  8. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
    Can we repack in windows?? any method if we don't have recovery ?
     
  9. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    526
    @cool.gautam as i have done in rooting A75 , just get mkfs.yaffs2 then use it ! after giving permissions of 667
    the only prob is that Linux !!
     
    cool.gautam likes this.
  10. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
    how to use it....i don't know please help someone...and its for a85 i just need to repack system.img
     
  11. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    526
  12. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
    Can i do these things in windows? if no can u tell me how to copy files from windows to ubuntu on virtual machine?
     
  13. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    For second: pretty easy. Just install guest additions in virtual box and VMWare tools in VMWare.
    Add the shared folder and you can copy files ;)
     
    cool.gautam and varun.chitre15 like this.
  14. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
    hmm..... i guess have to re-install it all again..!! ok thanks btw
     
  15. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645
    @akshay
    Thanks a lot
    It worked :) :)
     
  16. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    526
    :p Parallels a better alternative for vmware fusion -- do not know on windows though
    i personally use Parallels ---> for anything in Linux and any(if any )work with Windows !
    it has also a Windows version , have Tried both ,but Parallels is like too user friendly .
     
  17. 545himanshu

    545himanshu Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    can explain how to repack system.img using mkfs.yaffs2 tool in ubuntu or any other way to repack system.img and i am using MMX a75 :confused:
     
  18. 545himanshu

    545himanshu Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    can you plz....guide me how to re-pack system.img:confused:
     
  19. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    410
    It's already explained in your own quotes man..replies by varun n ninad...ninad has shown step-by-step already.
     
  20. jaicool

    jaicool Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    u got the jet 2.1 wud u plz gimme the system.img,recovery.img and boot.img plzz plzzzz plzzzz plzzzz plzzzzz
     
  21. D3odex3DAyusH

    D3odex3DAyusH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    78
    Don't if you hv resolved the problem, but,
    Why to load your PC with crappy VMs for this ??!!:p:D:D
    You can better use the the arm version of mkfs.yaffs2 to unpack/repack system.img. I can't give links 'coz don't hv my PC now, but you google for it and you will get it! You can then use it with cygwin or adb! What you'll need to do is adb push some xbin files, that comes with tool, chmod xbin, and then put your system.img in sdcard for unpacking, or give the dir. for your system folder, which is to be packed. Run commands in shell and you'll get your system.img packed!!;) I do the same!!
    Refer to the results on Google for those commands, 'coz I don't remember them!!!:D:D:D
     
  22. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645
  23. D3odex3DAyusH

    D3odex3DAyusH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    78

Share This Page

Loading...