How to replace launchers.


Last Updated:

  1. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey everyone, was wondering if anyone could tell me how to replace launchers on my phone. I'm running bobzhome's CM7, and I would like to use the stock launcher instead of Launcher Pro.

    Anyone know of a guide I can use to do this? Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    219
    There you go, stock gingerbread launcher.
     
    RoujinKarma likes this.
  3. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks for the quick response, and the link!
     
  4. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    219
    I tend to be more active when i'm bored.
     
  5. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    Flashing Launcher2.zip will not work with BobZhome's rom. It's only for roms with ADW.

    Which is to say, I don't know this to be fact personally but it's always been the instructions on the bottom of the github page.
     
  6. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'll give it a shot, worst that can happen is I ruin my ROM. I have a NANDROID and other essentials :p

    EDIT: Alright Flashing really didn't do to much, but reset my launcher(NOWAI), I see a little bit of a performance loss, but im not sure if its just because of the launcher.
     
  7. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    Pretty sure there's instructions somewhere around here how to manually replace your default launcher too but not sure what thread. I don't recall it being difficult but I only glanced by it..
     
  8. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can I just delete the Launcher from the ROM image on my computer, boot Launcher 2 on, then just reflash?

    Because there are other stuff I want to delete anyway(shrug)
     
  9. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    834
    Download the launcher apk you want, install it, push home, select the launcher you want and check the default check mark. Also you may want to get the free app home switcher and you can change your launcher whenever. Also if that works only with adw find a flashable adw flash it, reboot, reboot back to recovery, flash that one.
     
  10. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    I was assuming he already knew how to choose default launcher with more than one installed while running but wanted to REMOVE LauncherPro.. But yeah:)
     
  11. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    16
    Last question for you all,

    What im thinking im just going to do is just download bobzhome cm7, unzip it, go through the /system/app folder and just add/delete what I want, and reflash. Can I do this without breaking something? Thanks :D!
     
  12. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    834
    I never assume. Allot of people don't know the little stuff I've found. Also once it's installed you can uninstall the other but it can be dangerous. Also link2sd has a feature now where it will push an app to system and visa versa
     
  13. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    834
    You remove the wrong thing or don't put it back right you can brick. Also I believe it needs to have some kind of script to install.
     
  14. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    I know there was quite recently a thread about REPLACING stock apps, just look a little..

    Also I don't believe you can just cut and replace stuff in a package before installing, it just won't install anyway..
     
  15. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    He said "replace" in his first post that's why I assumed..
     
  16. hjv

    hjv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bricked an LG Optimus V. Rooting it was fine but I made the mistake of removing the default launcher because I was using Launcher Pro. I realized my utter mistake when I later did a factory reset because, without Launcher, it's just a blank screen. :(

    Do you think I'd be able to replace it if I access the phone as a Mass Storage Device? I don't think the Android version is gingerbread though so I'm not sure where to get the Launcher file from...nor where to put it.

    Any ideas? Thanks for any help anyone can offer! :)
     
  17. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Go to the market on the computer and download a launcher from it. Give it about ten minutes to make sure the download is complete. Turn phone off. When you turn the phone back on the launcher should be there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...