How to reset back to the original firmware?


Last Updated:

  1. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there!

    Yesterday i just started to use GingerSteem extreme.

    It is REALLY awesome. but idk, its weird at the same time because I cant find any common apps in google play like instagram, facebook, etc.

    If someone knows how to fix this pls tell me, maybe I'll change my mind lol.

    So I decided to go back to the original and give a shot in the ZVC ROM.

    I created a backup in the ROM manager with the original firmware (the worst firmware lol) and tried to recover, but the phone rebooted, stood like 5 minutes with a black screen, and then came back with the Ginger extreme.

    Im afraid to go to settings > privacy > reset factory data and mess up with the phone... i really dont wanna brick my phone lol

    So, whats the best way to go back to the MetroPCS firmware? Is ZVC ROM better than Extreme? Will still happening the same problem with the google market??

    thx!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    dont do thru the phone settings youll be F'ed
     
  3. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    im sure you have cwm on your phone right? you should do your backup from there
     
  4. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. Im using Ginger Extreme, but before I created the backup for the Metro's original firmware.

    idk. I open ROM manager > Manage and Restore backups and select it. Then it stay on a black screen for a loooooooooong. The only way to turn on again is holding the lock button and turning on again.
     
  5. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    forget that boot onto cwm recovery not rom manager and do a back up from there you'll backup ginger extreme cause thats what you have now
     
  6. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    all them apps should work fine for that rom maybe you need to clear cache for play store in settings>applications
     
  7. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    didnt worked. I already did. When I go to apps/games, it just shows me 29 apps lol

    if I search hotmail, facebook, instagram, yahoo, the official app doesnt show up in the results
     
  8. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i reboot into the manual recovery in the ROM manager, and select WIPE DATA / FACTORY RESET, will this turn back to the metro's firmware??
     
  9. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    well hot dag boy sound like you done strum your guitar a little too hard and broke u a string what else were you doing with rom manager did you change any setting on there?
     
  10. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7,289
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    The firmware has nothing to do with Google Play searches. I don't see why Facebook wouldn't show up in a search in Google play. That makes no sense.

    I would download and install the stock (Zvb,C,D whichever one your on) ROM and then start over again. I don't know what point your at and what you've already done to your phone.

    You can only change firmwares (B,C,D) through LGPNST. You can crossgrade a ROM and change firmwares. Dont work like that.
     
    mrpnut likes this.
  11. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well,
    in the ROM manager, the only thing I did was FIX PERMISSIONS. that helped me a lot, because a lot of apps were crashing.

    but in general, i didnt change any important system setting. I did overclock, to feel the POWER hahahahahah lol, but I always return to 1000mhz
     
  12. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, if I open the program I used in windows UNLOCK ROOT, and unroot, what gonna happen? o_O
     
  13. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    thats not gonna do nuthin for you it already served its purpose
     
  14. sarmentox

    sarmentox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    So, download ZvC, install this ROM, and then try to restore from the backup i did from the original metro's firmware or factory reset in the settings?
     
  15. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
    you can do a few things here either redownload a rom with zvc like your on now or use the lg and update to zvd you'll be on stock from scratch
     
  16. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    87
  17. bnb25

    bnb25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    375
    for one stop using rom manager to install from a backup, go into clock work mod recovery and restore from the back up from there. ROM manager can be fickled on this phone.

    you did the backup before installing the custom rom correct?
     
  18. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7,289
    Likes Received:
    2,503

    Agreed. I always boot my backups from within CWM not Rom Toolbox.
     
  19. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,525
    Likes Received:
    1,783

Share This Page

Loading...