[How To] Root 2.3.4/downgrade and Get S-off


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. egfromnj

    egfromnj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Scotty and Iowa. That worked silly me for missing that part of the directions. Continuing on. I will let you know how it turns out.
     

    Advertisement
  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    7,414

    You know,I was actually wondering the same thing. A while ago I tried to root a friends Inc with z4 and it would NOT install clockwork. Ended up having to run unrevoked.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  3. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    there have been a couple people on here that used z4root to temp root, then used rom manager to install CWM, then booted into recovery and flashed s-off... on the other hand I personally have tried that method a few times and have been unsuccessful in getting CWM flashed.... in other words not sure how recovery is written with rom manager either.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  4. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    I believe it requires s off since you are trying to install an unsigned package.
     
  5. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    that would be my initial thought also but like I said I've personally helped a few users temp root using z4root, then use rom manager to flash CWM (I remember it took about 10 times), then flash s-off..
    But in my own experience experimenting with my wife's phone, I was unsuccessful. (twice)
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  6. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ok sounds right. I was thinking it may be blocking it for some reason. Good to know
     
  7. Thursdays

    Thursdays New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to root, but Rom Manager refuses to actually install a new recovery, and I'm stuck with the black/white bar recovery.

    I hope someone can figure this out, I've tried everything I can.
     
  8. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    What if in unrevoked we selected flash alternate recovery and selected the latest cm? Download the zip of cm and select it for unrevoked to push thru the file menu
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    Only thing I can suggest at this point is to continue forward with the downgrade to Froyo so you can root with the new Unrevoked and bypass this issue.
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    I don't exactly follow but you're not going to be able to load a recovery via zip. First, this can't be done in recovery, it must be done through hboot. And since any CWM zip will not contain an official signature, it will not load since at that point, you're still s-on.
     
  11. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16

    Agreed run titanium first to save your apps
     
  12. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    In the file menu of unrevoked there is an option to flash a different recovery stored locally on your pc.
     
    scotty85 and iowabowtech like this.
  13. egfromnj

    egfromnj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys! It took a second plus once my phone rebooted before trying s-off everyone and their grandmother tried to call me, but you can add me in as a successful test subject. I officially rooted 2.3.4 and have s-off utilizing your instructions. They are very easy and they are definitely noob friendly as long as you aren't afraid of command line and unlike me read the clear directions. I used to code and was very knowledgeable of unix before I dropped the major at Rutgers.

    Once again special thanks goes out to everyone involved.

    FYI - Scotty you can update the files for the recovery like i believe you stated you were but honestly I didn't have any issues and I believe I have a slcd Inc. Yes it does still show an old CW recovery but the actual ROM manager says it's updated to 5.0. Just saying because your instructions are pretty much flawless to me. CHEERS!! :)
     
  14. Thursdays

    Thursdays New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went ahead and did this, everything went fine and the update (downgrade) installed. Now I'm stuck boot looping, without a working recovery. Ouch. :confused:
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    I forgot that even existed. What are they looking for then a recovery.img? This could definitely be worth a try.
     
  16. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yes I believe just the. Img from newest cm would work
     
  17. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    scotty85 likes this.
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    Verify the MD5 of the PB31IMG. Should be this:

    31BB1611A0FA8197D447C0438426717E
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  19. Rooter28

    Rooter28 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    16

    Maybe boot into bootloader do factory reset and either reboot or reload the pb31img?
     
  20. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958

    I believe he's referring to the option in unrevoked (the one I was referring to earlier) it will flash whatever recovery you point it to via the same method it would normally flash clockwork (the incompatible one).

    Edit: wow for some reason my posts aren't updating until I post... Disregard lol
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  21. azlodaniel

    azlodaniel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Scotty and everyone one else involved I am now rooted with s-off.
     
  22. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    No, my fault I wasn't following either of you guys as I forgot about the utility having that option. So anyway, I posted the zip for Clockwork 5.0.2.0 in post #67. Need a volunteer to download, unzip it, and then try using that recovery.img when running the tool.

    Also if somebody could post which menu option the alternate recovery .img option is under and if it works, a few words to make others familiar with the process.
     
  23. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    :eek:


    yes... try this.verify the md5,and if its different,redownload,and flash it again. let us know how it goes.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    i forgot about this as well. id like for someone to verify that changing the recovery image to a local one doesnt screw something up with the root process.

    hmm,let me see...
    add md5s,
    FAT32
    special note to slcd users

    if theres more let me know :)

    i guess it goes without saying,the recovery image is contained within the reflash app,not the folder,so i cant just swap it out and reupload :(
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  25. tmason68

    tmason68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Backing up through the ROM Manager UI didn't work either. I think I will wait until the dust settles and someone figures out how to get s-off with the s-lcd.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...