How To Root Alcatel One Touch Evolve 5020T


Last Updated:

  1. DrummerBoy420

    DrummerBoy420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Couldn't find any threads of a successful root method for this device so I figured I'd try a few and found one that works flawlessly.

    Instructions:

    1. Go to: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2403230

    Follow this rooting method and verify root access with Root Checker once finished.

    2. Next, go to the PlayStore and download the SuperUser and Titanium Backup apps.

    3. Open the new SuperUser app (you'll notice that the installed SuperUser app isn't in English). Click "Allow" on the pop-up, then proceed to update the binary (this switches the link from the Asian SuperUser app to The English one)

    4. Then, go into Titanium Backup and delete the previously installed SuperUser app (1.-something, it's picture of a shield).

    5. Now you have a rooted Alcatel One Touch Evolve 5020T. Enjoy!!! :smokingsomb:
     

    Advertisement
  2. mobclan

    mobclan Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    49
    Can you post the link or the download file so I can root this device
     
  3. DrummerBoy420

    DrummerBoy420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    No I cannot because like the post said, this is my first thread so I can't post links. The site won't allow it. Follow step 1 and it'll be the first search result on Google. Everything you need is on that page.
     
  4. mobclan

    mobclan Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    49
    Dont worry im rooted now I just need a rom and cwm
     
  5. DrummerBoy420

    DrummerBoy420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Glad it worked for you! I'm only familiar with the ROMs and CWM for the Sidekick 4G (because it was running Froyo). I'm keeping the stock ROM on the Alcatel for now. Jelly Bean is such a big improvement from Froyo and Gingerbread, I have no issues with it so far. As far as compatibility I'd wait a bit for someone to develop a working ROM for this phone since the soft keys and the Android menus were customized a bit by Alcatel, but that's just me. Good luck!
     
  6. mobclan

    mobclan Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    49
    It sucks bc this stock rom is slow there got to be a way to speed up this phone
     
  7. DrummerBoy420

    DrummerBoy420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    The only way to speed up the phone aside from rooting and deleting all the bloatware or flashing a custom ROM and overclocking the processor to 1.2 GHz, is to frequently clear all of the items out of the "recent apps" list.

    Aside from that I moved all my apps to the SD card and installed Clean Master and History Eraser from the Play Store. I put the Clean Master widget on my home screen to frequently close all running processes (there is an Ignore List so you can keep certain apps open if you wish). History Eraser is good for clearing the cache which fills up pretty quickly on this phone.

    Note: If you want to save even more battery use Screen Dimmer and set a widget. The lowest brightness is still a bit too bright in my opinion.

    Hope this helps!
     
  8. Calilegit

    Calilegit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey how did you get yours to get rooted? Mines wouldn't go
     
  9. Calilegit

    Calilegit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    nvm I had my usb debugging off prob solved! Rooted!
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,603
    Likes Received:
    21,456
  11. frgordils

    frgordils New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did all the steps as shown on youtube video. after reneming Superuser i restarted my phone and i showed "updating phone" after that it got stock on Tmobile screen so i dont know what to do. My phone is an alcatel One Touch 5020T
     
  12. mobclan

    mobclan Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    49
    I had the same problem use this superuser instead I'm rooted u don't need to rename nothing instill the superuser on the pic u see the difference
     

    Attached Files:

  13. D1358531

    D1358531 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    28
    How did you move all your apps to the SD card? Titanium Backup?
     
  14. DrummerBoy420

    DrummerBoy420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
  15. alfick3

    alfick3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    416
    It also works for the 7020N, which is the MetroPCS variant.
     
  16. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,071
    i would suggest not using this method, as i posted i n that thread it is just someone elses exploit bundled up in some chinese program. with all the scares of kingoroot and vroot stick to things abit more reputable.

    Cydia Impactor or if you really want to use this exploit, google and use bin4ry's 4.1 root.
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  17. D1358531

    D1358531 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    28
    So, using bin4ry's root tool, the phone will have root and a custom recovery?
     
  18. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,071
    no, custom recovery is completely different.
     
  19. D1358531

    D1358531 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    28
    Ok, thanks...should I attempt to unroot the Chinese version on my phone, or just go ahead with bin4ry's method?
     
  20. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,071
    if you already ran the chinese there is no telling what its done to youyr phone. just because yopu remove superuser doesnt mean the malware that may or may not have come packaged with it will be removed.
     
  21. D1358531

    D1358531 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    28
    I'm hoping nothing came packaged with it ;)

    Just checked with malwarebytes, no malware
     
  22. alfick3

    alfick3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    416
    Yeah, I will not root the other 4 that way. I'll look at what Shabby posted.
     
  23. D1358531

    D1358531 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    28
    Well, I tried the other methods mentioned, but they didn't work. I had to go back to the Chinese root.
     
  24. harry325

    harry325 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to root this Alcatel One Touch 5020T phone, but I can't find any Windows driver for it. It always shows up as 5020T with USB debugging mode.
    Does anyone have a driver for it?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  25. hooah212002

    hooah212002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here. I can get root with the Chinese tool, but I encounter serious system slowdown and overall general quirkiness. bin4ry's tool doesn't achieve root, but the phone and app recognize the commands.
     

Share This Page

Loading...