How to root (for noobs) and install native multitouch browser (ported from milestone)


Last Updated:

  1. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    *this was tested to work as of January 16, 2010 on the motorola droids latest build 2.0.1
    Ok, so first you need to be rooted. The easiest, most noob friendly guide can be found at this link.

    Obtaining Root - Root Your Droid

    after following those stebs, download the droid root tools from this link...

    http://rapidshare.com/files/336479648/RootingTools.zip


    then, extract the file and put the tools folder (the actual folder named tools, not the contents) on the root of your sd card. also put the DroidRootHelper.apk on the root of your sd card. then download astro file manager from the android market. open astro file manager and, while on the root of your sd card, click on the DroidRootHelper.apk you just copied over. Then, click install and follow the installation procedure.
    *Note: you must have the checked the box that says Unknown sources in your settings > applications on the android launcher (NOT IN ASTRO).

    After you have sucessfully install DroidRootHelper, launch the application and click the following buttons in the following order.

    Mount system 3 then 4
    Rename recovery
    Install busybox
    Install flash image
    Flash boot animation
    Flash SirPsychoS's recovery
    Reboot recovery

    *you should see a yellow android as the background and “Patched by SirPsychoS” @ the top

    now you might want to perform a nandroid backup (recommended) just incase you do something wrong. to do this from the screen you are at (if you already exited it, turn off the phone and turn it back on while holding down the power button and the X button on the keyboard) navigate down to backup/restore using left and right on the dpad. select it using the dpad, and than select simple nandroid backup. it will perform the backup, than you press power to go back to the main menu and than select reboot system now using the d-pad.

    Now when it restarts, you will have the new Nexus One Boot Animation installed.
    Now go to your app launcher and make sure you see the App named SuperUserPermissions
    If you have the nexus one boot animation and and the SuperUserPermissions app with a little ninja icon, than everything worked.

    Now for the droid multitouch browser. Download the file from this link

    http://rapidshare.com/files/336480962/mtbrowser.zip


    and extract it. copy both browser.apk and libwebmtcore.so to the root of your sd card. Then download Terminal Emulator for free from the Android Market. Launch it and type these commands in one at a time and press the enter key (the button directly below delete on the hard keyboard) after each one.

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    rm /system/app/Browser.odex
    cat /sdcard/Browser.apk > /system/app/Browser.apk
    cat /sdcard/libmtwebcore.so > /system/lib/libmtwebcore.so
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot[FONT=&quot]

    *Note: when i typed the [/FONT]rm /system/app/Browser.odex it said file does not exist, yet it still worked for me. Some people say this could cause problems down the line, but if it didnt exist in the first place on my phone (i checked ) than it is basically deleted.

    [FONT=&quot]now when it reboots open your browser and try pinch to zoom. Your Done!

    If you follow my guide and you want to show thanks, simply click the little icon under tip this and you will add to my reputation. Thanks!

    [/FONT]
     
    Advertisements
  2. gwmAstoria

    gwmAstoria Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I don't get the obsession with multi-touch. I can think of many things I'd like to pinch, but my cell phone isn't one of them.
     
  3. deeznuts2

    deeznuts2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Behind you...
    x2

    multitouch is a marketing gimmick - its a lot faster to double tap on a web page to zoom in than use two fingers to zoom

    As for other uses for multitouch, not enough apps to make it worthwhile
     
  4. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    a lot easier? double tap only lets you zoom in to a preset point. how does that help? and to get the plus or minus to pop up you have to click the screen and than touch the little buttons pinch to zoom is not a gimmick, its alot easier. thats like saying a tv remote is a gimick and the steering wheel for a car is a gimmick because you can do those the hard way too.
     
  5. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Hockeyfreak

    That is the best walkthrough ive used so far.

    For some reason, I cannot open the browser. It keeps force closing. Any recommendations?
     
  6. Bg8780

    Bg8780 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    nevermind. Im stupid. Thanks for guide!
     
  7. deeznuts2

    deeznuts2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Behind you...
    You don't need the plus or minus to pop up. Just double tap on any part of the screen to zoom in. Voila!

    As for zooming in to a preset point - thats nonsense. You can zoom into any part of the screen you double tap on - same as with multitouch.

    IE: its a marketing gimmick
     
  8. rustydude0749

    rustydude0749 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Whenever I do this step:
    I get the error message "can't create /system/lib: Is a directory"
    Any idea what I can do to fix it?

    Thanks in advance!!!!
     
  9. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    oh ya sorry, left out that last part, but i fixed it now. thanks!

    cat /sdcard/libwebmtcore.so > /system/lib/libwebmtcore.so
     
  10. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    yes but sometimes in zooms in too far or not enough. then what do you do? you double zap again and it will zoom back out. how does that help? ie. not a marketing gimmick
     
  11. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Just try doing the steps in terminal emulator over again, maybe you typed something wrong. if not, then follow this guide to restore everything back to normal and than do everything over again. that seems alot easier than trying to pinpoint the problem.

    AllDroid - View topic - Complete Idiot's Guide to getting back to stock [repost]
     
  12. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
  13. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Before going back to stock, I did an Nandroid restore to the restore point i made just after rooting, then retyped the code. Bingo!

    Thanks again for your walk through. I learned alot about the rooting process from it.
     
  14. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    yes. of course use the nandroid backup, that is why i had you make it. lol
     
  15. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I love when people say that multitouch and pinch zoom are marketing gimmicks. LOL.
     
  16. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    i know. and i dont know why they post that under a thread dedicated to multitouch. party poopers
     
  17. deeznuts2

    deeznuts2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Behind you...
    If that amuses you then you probably need to get out more
     
  18. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    why are you talking in this thread?
     
  19. deeznuts2

    deeznuts2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Behind you...
    1) Its a free country

    2) This thread contains information regarding multitouch. If you didn't want people to talk about multitouch then you should have left that out of your title

    3) Its a forum - people will talk about all kinds of things. It is what it is.

    But to keep it on topic....

    This is probably one of the simpler how-tos I've come across, though people don't like jumping around from site to site to get the information. I would "borrow" the steps from rootyourdroid and add them to this thread (give them credit though - no one likes a thief). Also, linking to all the necessary files is a needed for a complete how-to. Try to make this thread a one-stop shopping center for all your rooting needs.

    Thanks for the info!
     
  20. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Northern VA
    That fact that you felt the need to comment indicates that you, not I, are the one who needs to get out more.

    Some of us actually USE multi-touch, and find it more intuitive than the double tap zoom of the stock browser.

    To me, calling it a marketing gimmick is just silly. You don't like it? Don't use it. I don't really care. For me, its useful, and more intuitive than double tapping. Just respect that others have a different opinion.
     
  21. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Note:

    when I downloaded these files this morning, the file was not

    libwebmtcore.so

    it was actually

    libmtwebcore.so

    That is the name of the file that needs to be inputted to get this to work.
     
  22. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    ya i just fixed that too. i dont know why i wrote that because that not what i typed in my phone.. anyways, how did the previous posts get it to wrok if they typed that wrong? lol
     
  23. cjb695

    cjb695 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Ok I dont want a custom boot logo (I heard it could brick you phone easier and I like the orginal one)so what should I not click for this part:

    Mount system 3 then 4
    Rename recovery
    Install busybox
    Install flash image
    Flash boot animation
    Flash SirPsychoS's recovery
    Reboot recovery

    Thanks for the help in the guide btw
     
  24. hockeyfreakb4

    hockeyfreakb4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    just dont click flash boot animation. if you going to brick your phone your going, clicking that button wont change that
    flashing the boot animation is just as dangerous / safe as anything else in this tutorial. Its cool anyways, it takes away that *** red eye and puts the nexus one boot in its place.

    ps. word of advice. for the most part, the dangers in performing these things are YOU! if you do everything correctly, you willnot break your phone in any way. (asuming the guide was written correctly). The only thing that goes wrong is YOU! everyone else has the exact same phone and nothing happened to them.
     
  25. altimax98

    altimax98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    Lakeland Fl
    does anyone else have that .zip file hosted somewhere else??? I cant download it, some stupid server full error.. POS
     

Share This Page

Loading...