how to root korean galaxy s2

1. sktes2

sktes2 Member

hi guys,
    i have korean gs2 shw m250s , i need to root the phone can u please guide me in getting the correct firmware , i have visited the xda forum for korean phones but the replies where very vague i am a noob could not understand. can anyone help me
    thank you

Advertisement
    :
  2. Shotgun84

Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum sktes2 and thanks for joining.

You can root with the siyah kernel
    [KERNEL] SiyahKernel v2.6.12 - "One kernel to rule them all" (SAMMY&AOSP ROMs) - xda-developers

Download the kor.tar from the attached files. You will then need to flash that using Odin.

Instructions on flashing can be found here.
    [03.02.2012][CF-Root 5.2] K/EFGHIJKL*, KP1/2/4/8/A, LA2/4, LP1/2/6/B -su+bb+CWM4/5 - xda-developers

Don't use any of the kernels from the above link as they are not compatible. Just use it as a guide.
    sktes2 likes this.
  3. sktes2

sktes2 Member

Hi thanks for The suggestion , what is the diff between cf root and siyah kernel and after rooting the phone with siyah kernel I can start installing custom Roms?
    Sorry I am asking basic questions I gave gone through google I get confused with these terms
    Thank you
  4. Shotgun84

A cfroot kernel is basically a modified stock kernel which adds clockworkmod recovery, superuser and busy box, the three things you need to run a custom ROM.

Siyah kernel is a custom kernel which adds the three things cfroot does but also offers other features such as underclocking and overclocking your CPU with voltage control and custom boot animations.

So siyah is the better one as it offers more features and has better battery and performance (for me anyway). And yeah once you've installed siyah you're ready to flash roms.
    sktes2 likes this.
  5. sktes2

sktes2 Member

thanks very much for the reply,
    just one more doubt
    1. which version of siyah should i use .. latest