How to save contacts to phone?


Last Updated:

  1. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I am pretty certain Ringdroid will work for me if I can save my contacts to my phone (they are currently all saved under gmail). I've heard from one person if they deleted a contact and then saved them to the phone the ringdroid worked. Can someone tell me how to do this without deleting/ re-adding? Thanks!

    (Or suggest another app I can use to cut my MP3s into ringtones)
     

    Advertisement
  2. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think you heard wrong. I didn't need to do anything special to make Ringdroid cut mp3's to ringtones. Also, the phone syncs with Gmail, and puts the contacts on your phone, so contacts are saved on the phone. Otherwise, you wouldn't be able to see your contacts if your data connection is down.

    Are you trying to assign specific mp3s to specific contacts?

    Ringdroid can cut .mp3s into smaller .mp3s, it really doesn't have any relations to your contacts.
     
  3. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I have no problem making the ring tones. I can assign them to contacts but they don't work. I did it on my old phone no problems. Others have had problems with Ringdroid on this phone also. Has it worked for you?

    Someone who got it to work on this phone (see the ringdroid thread) got it to work by deleting the contact and adding them to the phone. It DOES come up differently if you do this- I tried it. Right now my contacts say G (for gmail). If you add it through the music playlist area it adds the contact to the actual phone (Green phone icon comes up instead). It apparently works when the contact is set up this way. I don't want to delete and then re-add my contacts to get it to work.
     
    RWhittier likes this.
  4. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    I don't actually have the Vibrant, so I was providing answers based on Android in general. I've never even heard of adding contacts from the music playlist (can set the current song as ringtone, but not add contacts).
     
  5. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Got it working. Posting a how to thread.
     
  6. Nicoledg14

    Nicoledg14 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would love to know how you got it to work I've been trying forever to get it to work for me.
     
  7. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    If the how to thread isn't posted you can add/move your contacts to the phone by exporting your contacts to the SD card and then importing them back to the phone. That's how I did it at least.
     
  8. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Just make your ring tones on ringdroid. Then use ringo lite to add the tones to your contacts.
     

Share This Page

Loading...